For immediate release | April 18, 2024

ALA announces 2025 Carnegie Selection Committee

CHICAGO - The 2025 selection committee is already hard at work on choosing the longlist for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The 2025 committee includes the following experts who work closely with adult readers:

  • Allison Escoto (chair), Head Librarian and Director of Reading Programs, The Center for Fiction, Brooklyn, NY
  • Barbara Bibel, Reference Librarian, retired, Oakland (CA) Public Library
  • Sara Duff, Acquisitions & Collection Assessment Librarian, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL
  • Rebecca Hopman, Genealogy Services Librarian, Wisconsin Historical Society, Madison, WI
  • Carrie Koepke, Manager, Skylark Bookshop, Columbia, MO
  • Edward Kownslar, Head of Public Services, Ralph W. Steen Library, Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches, TX
  • Kathleen McBroom, Library Media Practicum Coordinator for the School of Information Sciences, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI

The 2025 longlist will be announced in October 2024, followed in November by the six-title shortlist—three each in fiction and nonfiction. The two winning titles will be revealed in January 2025 at the RUSA Book and Media Awards event during ALA‘s LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience (LLX) in Phoenix, Arizona. The celebratory event, including presentations by the winners and a featured speaker, will take place at the 2025 ALA Annual Conference in June 2025 in Philadelphia.

The upcoming celebratory event, sponsored by NoveList, will take place on Saturday, June 29, 2024, from 7 p.m. – 10 p.m. during ALA’s 2024 Annual Conference in San Diego. Attendees will hear from fiction winner Amanda Peters (The Berry Pickers; Catapult) and nonfiction winner Roxanna Asgarian (We Were Once a Family: A Story of Love, Death, and Child Removal in America; Farrar, Straus and Giroux) as well as a keynote speaker.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals were established in 2012 by the American Library Association and Carnegie Corporation of New York to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. in the previous year. They are the first single-book awards for adult titles given by ALA and are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA and supported by NoveList.

For more information and to see past longlists, shortlists, and winners, visit Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.

About the American Library Association
The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit


Raymond Garcia

Communications Specialist

American Library Association

Communications, Marketing & Media Relations Office