For immediate release | March 29, 2024

Rose Brock to receive Scholastic Library Publishing Award

CHICAGO — Rose Brock, Ph.D. has been named the 2024 winner of ALA’s Scholastic Library Publishing Award. This award of $1,000 and certificate of achievement, sponsored by the Scholastic Library Publishing Company, recognizes a librarian whose unusual contribution to the stimulation and guidance of reading by children and young people exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.

Dr. Brock exemplifies the spirit of librarianship as an advocate, influencer, author, and educator. She received a Master of Library Science and a doctoral degree in Library Science from Texas Woman's University. After serving as a public school librarian for 20 years, Dr. Brock is now an associate professor in the Department of Library Science and Technology at Sam Houston State University. She has utilized her research and expertise to publish a textbook, “Young Adult Literature in Action: a Librarian’s Guide.” This work is a significant contribution to the growth of future youth librarians. Additionally, Dr. Brock is the editor of two short story collections “Hope Wins and Hope Nation,” written by award-winning and bestselling authors. The anthologies provide inspirational stories of hope for young people.

The ALA award-winning North Texas Teen Book Festival (NTTBF) was co-founded by Dr. Brock with founder Kristin Trevino. The festival, now in its tenth year, has provided the opportunity for more than 50,000 young people to attend this free annual event which promotes reading and literacy. Dr. Brock's advocacy for audiobooks, as a tool for literacy, led her to partner with author Jon Scieszka to found the national literacy initiative Guys Listen.

Dr. Brock has continually provided notable contributions to the library profession through her numerous publications and presentations and has been recognized with prestigious awards such as the Siddie Joe Johnson Award for Outstanding Service to Youth by the Texas Library Association (2014). In addition to her many years of active service to the Texas Library Association, she has served on a number of national committees that serve young readers, including a variety of award juries.

In all that she does, Brock’s work is a shining example of an “unusual contribution to the stimulation and guidance of reading by children and young people," whose vision and work is driven to serve others.

The 2024 Scholastic Library Publishing Award will be presented at the ALA President’s Program, Sunday, June 30, during the ALA Annual Conference in San Diego, California.

Members of the 2024 Scholastic Library Publishing Award jury are: Chair, Laurel Bliss, fine arts librarian, San Diego State University; Kristin Buxton, science librarian, University of Oregon; Nikki Johnson, social sciences librarian, Indiana University; Stacey Nunn, school library media specialist, Baltimore County Public Schools; and Dorothy M. Persson, retired librarian, University of Iowa.

More information about the Scholastic Library Publishing Award can be found here.

About the American Library Association
The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit


Sheryl Reyes


Governance Office