For immediate release | March 18, 2024

American Library Association President Emily Drabinski to be honored with award from The Publishing Triangle

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to share that President Emily Drabinski will receive the Torchbearer Award from The Publishing Triangle, the association of LGBTQ+ people in publishing.

The award, now in its second year, is given to organizations or individuals who strive to awaken, encourage, and support a love of reading, or to stimulate an interest in and an appreciation of LGBTQ literature.

Drabinski is associate professor at the Queens College Graduate School of Library and Information Studies in New York. She publishes and presents widely on topics related to knowledge organization, information literacy, and critical perspectives in librarianship. Drabinski edits Gender and Sexuality in Information Studies, a book series from Library Juice Press/Litwin Books and is a contributing writer at Truthout.

Drabinski has served as chair of the International Relations Committee (2020-21), ALA councilor-at-large (2018-20) and chair of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Information Literacy Frameworks and Standards Committee (2019-20). She is an active member of ACRL and Core (Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures).

Drabinski holds a Master in Library and Information Science from Syracuse University, a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Columbia University and a Master of Arts in Composition and Rhetoric from Long Island University, Brooklyn.

The in-person awards ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. April 17 at the New School in New York City. The ceremony, which will be hosted by poet and activist Emanuel Xavier, will also be livestreamed. The awards ceremony and a reception are free and open to the public.

In addition, Dorothy Allison will receive the 2024 recipient of the Publishing Triangle’s Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement. This award celebrates the recipient’s lifetime of work and commitment to fostering queer culture. Hilary Zaid is the winner of the Publishing Triangle’s Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award, its prize for an LGBTQ writer who has published at least one book but not more than two.

For a full list of honorees and finalists for Publishing Triangle Awards visit

The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit


Raymond Garcia

Communications Specialist

Communications, Marketing & Media Relations Office