For immediate release | February 5, 2024

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship deadline extension

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is extending nominations for the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship. The Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship was established in 2004 and recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching or writing. Former award recipients include Nancy Kranich (2015), former ALA president; Wendy Newman (2011), former Canadian Library Association president; Michael Gorman (2010), former American Library Association president; and Mary Dempsey (2007), former Chicago library commissioner. The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation.

The online application form can be found at and must be submitted to ALA by March 1, 2024.


Sarah Nalepa

Governance Program Coordinator

American Library Association