For immediate release | March 16, 2023

Missouri Association of School Librarians receives AASL Chapter of the Year Award

CHICAGO – The Missouri Association of School Librarians (MASL) is the recipient of the 2023 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Chapter of the Year Award. The $1,000 award recognizes the AASL Chapter most active and dynamic in achieving the goals of AASL at the state and local level.

“The committee was very impressed with the leadership shown by the chapter in what was clearly a year of crisis for school librarians in Missouri,” said Tamara Cox, award committee chair. “MASL is a model chapter. They support their members through advocacy efforts and professional development; are supportive of ALA and AASL; and encourage membership and involvement in a variety of ways. In their own words, ‘MASL is a dynamic and evolving organization that sees needs and meets them.’”

AASL president Kathy Lester said, “from supporting new librarians, integration of the AASL National School Library Standards in writing new library standards for Missouri, responding to proposed cuts in funding, and giving their members the necessary tools to improve diverse book collections and possible challenges, MASL is creating a foundation of support for today and many tomorrows. Congratulations MASL and thank you for advancing school librarianship in Missouri and serving as a model of state leadership.”

The AASL award winners will be recognized during the 2023 AASL National Conference taking place October 19-21 in Tampa, Florida. For more information visit

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.


Allison Cline

Deputy Executive Director