For immediate release | June 12, 2012

Celebrate the very best in GLBT literature at the 2012 Stonewall Book Awards Brunch

CHICAGO — The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association will mark another year of excellence in GLBT of the Stonewall Book Awards during the Stonewall Book Awards Brunch from 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Monday, June 25, in the Anaheim Marriott Grand Salon A–D.

The Stonewall Book Awards Brunch will feature the presentation of the 2012 Stonewall Awards and Honors. The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award and the Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June or July. The award winners each receive a commemorative plaque and $1,000.

Scheduled to attend this year’s Stonewall Book Awards brunch are Barbara Gittings Literature Award winner Wayne Hoffman (“Sweet Like Sugar,” Kensington, 2011); Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award winner Michael Bronski (“A Queer History of the United States (Revisioning American History),” Beacon Press, 2011), and Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Award winner Bil Wright (“Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy,” Simon & Schuster BFYR, 2011). Honor book authors will also be in attendance.

Attendees will have the opportunity to meet authors during a book signing at the conclusion of the presentations.

Tickets are $55 including brunch. For more information, and to register, please visit the ALA Annual Conference website. Event code: GBT1.

For general information about the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif., June 21–26, 2012, visit the ALA Annual Conference website. Use the Conference Scheduler to plan your time, create your calendar, and find out about many other highlights as they’re added —speakers, events, networking opportunities, and more.

The Stonewall Book Awards are the first and most enduring award for GLBT books. Since Isabel Miller’s “Patience and Sarah” received the first award in 1971, more than 200 titles have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association is committed to serving the information needs of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender professional library community, and the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender information and access needs of individuals at large. GLBTRT is committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association and democratic institutions.


John Amundsen

Communications Specialist

Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (OLOS)

800-545-2433 ext.2140