For immediate release | March 18, 2013

Cahoy wins 2013 ACRL/IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

CHICAGO – Ellysa Stern Cahoy, education and behavioral sciences librarian and assistant director at the Pennsylvania Center for the Book at Pennsylvania State University, is the winner of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award. The award honors Miriam Dudley, whose efforts in the field of information literacy led to the formation of IS. The honor recognizes a librarian who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.

Cahoy will receive her $1,000 award, along with a plaque, at the IS program on Sunday, June 30, 2013, at 1 p.m. during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.

“Ellysa Stern Cahoy has made significant contributions to the advancement of information literacy in academic libraries and beyond,” said IS Miriam Dudley Award Chair Stephanie A. Michel, reference and instruction librarian at the University of Portland. “Cahoy is nationally recognized for her work on students’ transition from school to college, which includes co-founding the Central Pennsylvania K-16 Information Literacy Network to build partnerships between K-12 and academic librarians.

“Cahoy’s extensive publications and presentations reflect her scholarship in areas including affective learning, digital literacy, K-16 transitions and information literacy standards,” Michel continued. “Her impressive record of professional service in the Instruction Section and within ACRL includes her influential role as chair of the Information Literacy Competency Standards Review Task Force; this group’s recommendation for revising the widely-used standards will have a lasting impact on all academic information literacy librarians. Her exemplary record of research and leadership in information literacy prove that she is, as one of her nominators stated, ‘a perfect model of what an instruction librarian can be.’”

Cahoy received her M.A. in Library and Information Science from the University of Iowa and her B.A. in English from Rowan University.

For more information regarding the ACRL IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award, or a complete list of past recipients, visit the ACRL awards website.


ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing more than 12,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians. Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments. ACRL is on the Web at, Facebook at and Twitter at @ala_acrl.


David Free

Mktg & Comm. Specialist/Editor-in-Chief

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)

1-800-545-2433 ext.2517