For immediate release | March 20, 2023

Amanda Jones receives AASL Intellectual Freedom Award

CHICAGO – Amanda Jones, school librarian and president of the Louisiana Association of School Librarians, is the recipient of the 2023 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Intellectual Freedom Award. Established in 1982 and sponsored by ProQuest, the award is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and ALA.

“The work by Jones in her state for school and public libraries extends beyond the libraries and is for the students and citizens in the state,” says committee chair Kim Pakowski. “The committee was impressed with how hard Jones has worked and how respected she is in her work.”

Jones is committed to speaking out at every public library board meeting, has created a censorship toolkit for both school and public libraries, founded both the Livingston Parish Library Alliance and the state-wide organization Louisiana Citizens Against Censorship. She and two colleagues are working to unite all 64 parishes in Louisiana for both school and public libraries to monitor and speak out on proposed legislation in the state.

A colleague noted, “Ms. Jones rightly became the face of librarians’ stance against radical groups attempting to censor and harm libraries and readers nationwide. She simply did what librarians are supposed to do in protecting our communities and promoting intellectual freedom.”

“Amanda works hard to ensure that every child in her school is seen and heard, and that their lives are not only reflected in the books on the shelves, but they are able to find books into other worlds and ways of life to be more empathetic citizens,” notes Kelsye Baudoin, 2022 Louisiana School Librarian of the Year.

“Amanda is an example that we must all stand together and stand strong,” said AASL president Kathy Lester. “When a public library is challenged, all libraries are challenged. When a school or district in a state is challenged it is only a matter of time before other schools and districts are challenged. To unite and protect the rights of all learners is inspirational.”

The AASL award winners will be recognized during the 2023 AASL National Conference taking place October 19-21 in Tampa, Florida.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.


Allison Cline

Deputy Executive Director