For immediate release | May 10, 2011

ALTAFF names Mosley and Hargett 2011 Trustee Citation award winners

PHILADELPHIA – The Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations (ALTAFF), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has named Dave Hargett (posthumously) and Rose Mosley the 2011 ALA Trustee Citation award winners.

The ALA Trustee Citation, established in 1941 to recognize public library Trustees for distinguished service to library development, honors the best contributions and efforts of the estimated 60,000 American citizens who serve on library boards.

In Hargett’s three-year tenure as a library Trustee at the Fountaindale Public Library (Bolingbrook, Ill.), he accomplished more than many others do in decades of service. He was an active member/leader in ALTAFF and gladly mentored other Trustees who wanted to get involved. He served on the ALA Website Review Committee and worked tirelessly for his own local library. In 2007, Hargett was appointed chairman of the citizen group promoting a “yes” vote for a new library. With his and the committee’s efforts, the referendum passed by a razor thin vote total on Feb. 5, 2008. In late February 2008, there was a resignation on the Board of Trustees. The president of the board appointed Hargett to the open position, and he subsequently became chairman of the Building Committee. His hard work in planning the new building with the construction team and the architect was celebrated this year, 2011, with the opening of the new library on March 7, 2011. Unfortunately, Dave did not live to see the building completed; he died on Aug. 22, 2010. On March 26, 2011, when the library Trustees and staff and community leaders dedicated the new Fountaindale Public Library, they also dedicated the David B. Hargett Quiet Reading Room on the third floor of the library.

Mosley is currently serving her fifth six-year term as Trustee at the Maywood (Ill.) Public Library. During her tenure, the Maywood Public Library has grown from one of the smallest in Cook County, a mid-sized information and resource center serving the community. To ensure the that the library continued grow, she played a leading or a major role in four successful referenda to support the library’s operating budget and building program. The library, originally 950 square feet, is now a 42,000-square-foot facility. In recognition of her leadership, Mosley was honored with the Rosa Parks Community Service Award in 2002 for “unsurpassed dedication to Maywood and the enhancement of the public library system.” In 1995, she became the first African American to be elected to the Board of Trustees of the Metropolitan Library System in Illinois. Mosley is a member of the Illinois Library Association Forum and in 1995 she served as its president. In 2009-2010, she was president of ALTAFF.

Hargett and Mosley will be recognized as the winners of the ALA Trustee Citation award at the Opening General Session of the 2011 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans. For more information about the ALA Trustee Citation, visit


ALTAFF is a division of the American Library Association that supports citizens who govern, promote, advocate, and fundraise for libraries. ALTAFF brings together library Trustees, advocates, Friends, and Foundations into a partnership that creates a powerful force for libraries in the 21st century. For more information, visit, or contact Jillian Kalonick at (312) 280-2161 or


Jillian Kalonick