For immediate release | June 14, 2012

2012 ALA scholarship recipients announced

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Scholarship Program has chosen the scholarship recipients for 2012-2013. Recipients were selected for the following categories: General, Support Staff, and Specialty or Practice area, in children’s services, new media and federal librarianship.

ALA General Scholarships include:

  • Marshal Cavendish – established with donations from the Marshall Cavendish Corporation. Recipient: Corinne Elizabeth Edgerton, Carson, N.D. Edgerton is pursuing her studies at St. Catherine University.
  • David H. Clift – named for a former director of the ALA. Recipient: Jenna Marie Goodall, Bloomington, Ind. Goodall will be attending Indiana University.
  • Christopher Hoy/ERT – named for a long time ALA staff member who was director of ALA Conference Services. Recipient: Lora Lyn Worden, Portland, Ore. Worden will be studying at Emporia State University.

ALA Support Staff Scholarships include:

  • Tom and Roberta Drewes – established with donations from the founder of Quality Books. Recipient: Angela Kroeger, Omaha, Neb. Kroeger will be attending the University of Missouri.
  • Miriam L. Hornback – named for long time ALA Staff member and secretariat to the ALA Council and Executive Board. Recipient: Mary Caitlin McMahon, Harrisburg, Pa. McMahon will pursue her studies at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Tony B. Leisner – established with donation from an active ALA member and former member of ALA Council. Recipient: Oksana G. Prokhvacheva, Washington, DC. Prokhvacheva will be attending the Catholic University of America.

Specialty or Practice Area:

  • Mary V. Gaver (Children’s Services) – established to honor the memory of a past ALA president and Rutgers University professor. Recipient: Mary Hannah Farmer, Austin, Texas. Farmer will be pursuing her studies at University of Texas at Austin.
  • Peter Lyman Memorial/SAGE (New Media) – established to honor the memory of a University of California professor emeritus and university librarian and donation from SAGE Publishing. Recipient: Samantha Jane Thomason, Fredericksburg, Va. Thomason will be attending the University of Maryland.
  • Cicely Phippen Marks (Federal Librarianship) – named in honor of the late Cicely Phippen Marks and supported by generous donations from her husband Charles L. Garris. Recipient: Kathleen Rapp, Gaithersburg, Md. Rapp is studying at the University of Maryland.
  • ASCLA/Century Scholarship - established by the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) and the Library Service to Special Populations Section (LSSPS) and the Library Service to People with Visual or Physical Disabilities Forum. Recipient: Anthony Trocchia, Brooklyn, N.Y. Trocchia will be attending Queens College, CUNY.

Applicants for the ALA Scholarships must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident, must attend an ALA accredited master’s program; must not have completed more than 12 semester hours toward MLS/MLIS/MIS prior to June 1 of the awarded year, and must submit a complete application.

Criteria for the scholarships include academic excellence, leadership, and evidence of commitment to a career in librarianship.

For more information on the ALA Scholarship Program and how you can donate, please contact the Scholarship Clearinghouse at 800-545-2433 ext. 4279 or visit ALA Scholarship Program. The application for the 2013 academic year will be open in October 2012.


Kimberly Redd

Program Officer

Human Resource Development and Recruitment (HRDR)

800-545-2433 ext.4279