For immediate release | June 21, 2011

2011 ALA Scholarship recipients announced

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) Scholarship Program is announcing the scholarship recipients for 2011-2012. Recipients were selected for the following categories: General, Support Staff, Specialty or Practice area, in children’s services, new media and federal librarianship.

ALA General Scholarships include:
  • Marshal Cavendish – established with donations from the Marshall Cavendish Corporation.

    Recipient: Brenda Marie Hall, Orland Park, Ill. Hall is pursuing her studies at the University of Milwaukee – Wisconsin.
  • David H. Clift – named for a former director of the ALA.

    Recipient: Christine Noel Malinowski, Somerville, Mass. Malinowski will be attending the University of Washington Information School.
  • Christopher Hoy/ERT – named for a long time ALA staff member who was Director of ALA Conference Services.

    Recipient: Lori Kristen Neumeier, Little Rock, Ark. Neumeier will be studying at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill.
ALA Support Staff Scholarships include:
  • Tom and Roberta Drewes – established with donations from the founder of Quality Books.

    Recipient: Kelly Anne Durkin, Great Meadows, NJ. Durkin will be attending Rutgers University.
  • Miriam L. Hornback – named for long time ALA Staff member and secretariat to the ALA Council and Executive Board.

    Recipient: Kai Alexis Smith, Easton, Conn. Smith will pursue her studies at Pratt Institute.
  • Tony B. Leisner – established with donation from an active ALA member and former member of ALA Council.

    Recipient: Christopher Danald Marcum, San Diego. Marcum will be attending the University of Arizona.
Specialty or Practice Area:
  • Mary V. Gaver (Children’s Services) – established to honor the memory of a past ALA president and Rutgers University professor.

    Recipient: Shanna Louise Shadoan, Denver, Colo. Shadoan will be pursuing her studies at McGill University.
  • Peter Lyman Memorial/SAGE (New Media) – established to honor the memory of a University of California professor emeritus and university librarian and donation from SAGE Publishing.

    Recipient: Fredrica W. Lush will be attending the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Cicely Phippen Marks (Federal Librarianship) – named in honor of the late Cicely Phippen Marks and supported by generous donations from her husband Charles L. Garris.

    Recipient: Rebecca Carlson, Chapel Hill, NC. Carlson will be studying at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill.

Applicants for the ALA Scholarships must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident, must attend an ALA accredited master’s program; must not have completed more than 12 semester hours toward MLS/MLIS/MIS prior to June 1 of the awarded year, and must submit a complete application.

Criteria for the scholarships include academic excellence, leadership, and evidence of commitment to a career in librarianship.

For more information on the ALA Scholarship Program and how you can donate, please contact the Scholarship Clearinghouse at 800-545-2433 ext. 4279 or visit The application for the 2012 academic year will be open in October 2011.


Kimberly Redd