For immediate release | April 6, 2022

Ashley Long receives AASL Frances Henne Award

CHICAGO – Ashley Long, media specialist at Talley Street Upper Elementary in Decatur, Georgia, is the recipient of the 2022 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Frances Henne Award. Sponsored by Libraries Unlimited, the $1,250 award recognizes a school librarian with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers, and administrators. The award will enable Long to attend an AASL National Conference for the first time.

“Ashley started at Talley right before COVID, a difficult time for even experienced school librarians, and she excelled. From collaborating with other school librarians to distribute resources through a bus network and outdoor book pickup, to leading her school’s equity team and staff book club implementing her training from Courageous Conversation training, and most recently founding her school’s student-led news network, Ashley’s demonstration of leadership is evident,” said Martha Pangburn, award committee chair. “Repeatedly the committee was impressed with Ashley’s focus on what this award would mean for her students and school community.”

In the spirit of the award, Long emphasized, “Frances Henne was critical in establishing the school library as a driver of student achievement through her AASL leadership and development of school library standards. Through the Frances Henne Award, I hope to have the opportunity to live out her legacy, become a stronger leader, and grow into the school librarian that my students deserve by attending the AASL conference.”

“School librarian leaders are inspired by their learning community,” said AASL President, Jennisen Lucas. “To see a future leader like Ashley, so early in her career as a school librarian, to place her students at the center of her work and to be inspired by them and feel fortunate to serve her community, gives me tremendous confirmation that the future of school librarianship shines bright.”

The AASL award winners will be recognized during the 2023 AASL National Conference taking place October 19-21 in Tampa, Florida.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.


Allison Cline

Deputy Executive Director

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)