For immediate release | October 5, 2021

Nominations open for 2022 IFRT John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) is accepting nominations for the 2022 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award. This award, presented annually, honors notable contributions to intellectual freedom and demonstrations of personal courage in defense of freedom of expression by a living individual, group, or organization. The award consists of a citation and $500. IFRT will present the award during the 2022 ALA annual conference in Washington, DC.

The award is sponsored by the Intellectual Freedom Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA). The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2021.

Visit the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award page for more information and to submit nominations.

Members of the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award Committee are: Chair Johannah Genett, Hennepin County Library; Kristin Joy Anderson, Lewis University; Sarah Beverly Burchart, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research; Kristin E. C. Green, Penn State University Libraries, Scranton Campus; Lynda Salem Poling, Long Beach Public Library; and Dr. Jennifer E. Steele, University of Southern Mississippi.

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA


Kristin Pekoll

IFRT Staff Liaison

American Library Association

Intellectual Freedom Round Table