For immediate release | January 20, 2021

RUSA Achievement Awards - Call for Nominations!

There are so many people doing good work; this is a chance to make sure they get the national recognition they deserve. RUSA is seeking nominations for the 2021 Achievement Awards!

Please take a look at the award summaries below with these questions in mind:

  • Is there anyone you know that could be worthy of consideration?
  • What library in your area has been excelling in this work?

Consider nominating someone if your answer is ‘YES’ to either of those questions. You can access the nomination form underneath each award description below. The deadline for nominations is February 12th, 2021.

RUSA Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award | Submission Form

Presents a monetary prize of $5,000 and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship.

More information ...

RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award | Submission Form

$1,250 and a citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services.

More information...

RUSA Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services | Submission Form

A citation and monetary award presented to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons’ reference needs.

More information...

RUSA John Sessions Memorial Award | Submission Form

A library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States.

More information...

RUSA Gail Schlachter Memorial Research Grant | Submission Form

Awarded annually in the amount of $5,000 to financially support an individual or collaborative group conducting research into reference or user services whose research projects aim to better understand or answer key questions related to connecting people to resources, information services, and collections.

More information...

RUSA Exceptional Service Award | Submission Form

This award is given to recognize exceptional service to patients, to the home bound, to people of all ages who live in group homes or residences, and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research of experimental projects.

More information...

RUSA Federal Achievement Award | Submission Form

The Federal Achievement Award presented by ASGCLA 2019-2020, was formerly the FAFLRT Achievement Award. The award recognizes an individual for achievement in the promotion of library and information service and the information profession in the Federal community. Those nominated need not be members of RUSA.

More information...

RUSA Federal Rising Stars Initiative | Submission Form

Federal Rising Stars Initiative, begun by FAFLRT, has been administered by ASGCLA since the merger with FAFLRT. The award, highlights the achievements of those new to the profession. Rising Stars are those people who display a passion for the profession, both at work and via volunteer or association activities.

More information...

RUSA Francis Joseph Campbell Award | Submission Form

A citation and a medal presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for people with physical disabilities and/or physical impairments.

More information...

RUSA/Keystone Library Automation System (KLAS) & National Organization on Disability (NOD) Award | Submission Form

A $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project which successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities.

More information...

View a full list of RUSA Achievement Awards (Including RUSA Section Level Awards.


Melissa Vanyek

Marketing Communications & Web Services Coordinator