For immediate release | May 7, 2020

Maryland Association of School Librarians awarded AASL ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant

CHICAGO – The Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL) is the recipient of the 2020 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant. Sponsored by ABC-CLIO, the $1,750 grant is given to an AASL Chapter for planning and implementing leadership programs at the state, regional, or local level.

MASL’s program starts with the premise, “Who doesn’t like a shiny new badge?” Through the inaugural Looking to Lead program, Maryland school librarians can apply to be a part of a school library leadership virtual cohort and earn a MASL micro-credential in school library leadership. Participants will take part in activities that encourage them to identify their individual leadership style, set personal leadership goals, and create a personal leadership project. “Leadership: Strategic Thinking, Decision Making, Communication, and Relationship Building” by Ann M. Martin and Kathleen Riopelle Roberts will be utilized as the final module of the micro-credential.

“MASL blended both practical and innovative approaches in their plan to build leadership capacity and grow their community,” said Michael-Brian Ogawa, award committee chair. “They will leverage virtual cohorts and micro-credentialing to encourage current members to become involved in leadership opportunities at the school, community, state, and national levels. Their program also seeks to inspire non-members to join their association and become similarly involved in leadership roles. We are excited to hear about their successes. Congratulations to MASL!”

“Congratulations to MASL!” said Mary Keeling, AASL President. “The program is designed to activate leadership within school-based librarians. This project promises to activate leadership at local, state, and national levels by helping individuals understand their personal leadership style and providing tools to develop a personal action plan. I’d like to thank Jennifer Sturge and MASL for their vision; Michael-Brian Ogawa and his committee for their work in evaluating applications; and ABC-CLIO for their generous support for this award.”

The AASL award winners will be honored during a virtual AASL Awards Ceremony during the fall of 2020. The virtual ceremony will replace the live ceremony traditionally presented during the ALA Annual Conference. Out of concern for the health and safety of all members of the community, the ALA Executive Board felt it was important to cancel the 2020 conference taking place in Chicago. Details for the virtual ceremony will be shared as they are finalized.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)