For immediate release | October 3, 2019

IFRT accepting nominations for 2020 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award

The Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award committee is seeking nominations for the 2020 award. The award honors a literary work or series of works in the area of intellectual freedom. This can include matters of ethical, political, or social concerns related to intellectual freedom. It is presented biennially and is for an article, a series of thematically connected articles, a book, or a manual published on the local, state, or national level in English or English translation.

The award is $500 and a certificate and will be presented at the 2020 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois. Deadline for submission is December 1, 2019.

For more information on criteria of the award, past recipients or to submit a nomination please visit the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award website.

Members of the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award Committee are: Chair Trish Hull, Salt Lake County Library; Hannah Duff, Largo Public Library; Steven Greechie; Carole Nowicke, Indiana University; and Angela Ocana, Eugene Public Library.

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA

Related Links


Kristin Pekoll

IFRT Staff Liaison

American Library Association

Intellectual Freedom Round Table