For immediate release | June 4, 2019

Celebrate the best in LGBTQIA+ literature at the 2019 Stonewall Book Awards

CHICAGO — The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association will celebrate its award winners and honorees at the Stonewall Book Awards Ceremony from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. on Monday, June 24, in the Marriott Marquis, Salon 12 & 13 in Washington, D.C.

The Stonewall Book Awards are given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience and include the Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award, the Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award. Other awards presented that morning will include the The Newlen-Symons Award for Excellence in Serving the GLBT Community and the Larry Romans Mentorship Award (presented in conjunction with the Government Documents Round Table [GODORT]). All awards are announced in the winter and presented to the winners at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June.

The ceremony will feature the presentation of the 2019 Awards and Honors, remarks by participating authors, and book signings by participating publishers at the end of the event. The award winners each receive a commemorative plaque and $1,000.

Scheduled to attend this year’s Stonewall Book Awards ceremony are Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Award winners Kacen Callender (“Hurricane Child,” Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic Inc., 2018) and Jessica Love (“Julián is a Mermaid,” Candlewick Press, 2018), as well as honoree Ashley Herring Blake (“Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World,” Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc., 2018). Barbara Gittings Literature Award winner Rebecca Makkai (“The Great Believers,” Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House, 2018) and honoree Uzodinma Iweala (“Speak No Evil,” Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins, 2018) are scheduled to attend the ceremony, as are Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award honorees Eric and Stephanie Lohman (“Raising Rosie: Our Story of Parenting an Intersex Child,” Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2018) and Isaac Butler and Dan Kois (“The World Only Spins Forward: The Ascent of Angles in America,” Bloomsbury USA, 2018).

The event is open to all conference attendees who hold full conference registration or a Monday single-day pass.

For general information about the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. June 20-25, 2019, visit the ALA Annual Conference website. Use the Conference Scheduler to plan your time, create your calendar, and find out about many other highlights as they’re added — speakers, events, networking opportunities, and more.

For more information about the Stonewall Book Awards, please visit

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association is the oldest professional association for LGBTQIA+ people in the United States. It is committed to serving the information needs of the LGBTQIA+ professional library community and information and access needs of individuals at large. It is home to GLBT Book Month (tm), a nationwide celebration every June and the Stonewall Book Award, the oldest award honoring LGBTQIA+ books. GLBTRT is committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association and democratic institutions.

The American Library Association is the oldest and largest library association in the world with more than 57,000 members. Its mission is to provide leadership for the development, promotion and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.


Briana Jarnagin

Program Coordinator, Community Engagement

American Library Association

Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services