For immediate release | June 30, 2020

Recipients of the 2020 David Cohen/EMIERT Multicultural Award announced

CHICAGO - Denice Adkins, associate professor at the School of Information Science & Learning Technologies, University of Missouri, Jenny Bossaller, associate professor at the University of Missouri's School of Information Science and Learning Technologies, and Heather Moulaison Sandy, Ph. D. associate professor and director of graduate studies at the University of Missouri's School of Information Science and Learning Technologies, are the recipients of the 2020 American Library Association (ALA) Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) David Cohen/EMIERT Multicultural Award for their article entitled "Exploring Reader-Generated Language to Describe Multicultural Literature.”

The David Cohen/EMIERT Multicultural Award recognizes recent articles that include significant new research related to the understanding and promotion of multiculturalism in libraries in North America. Works published within the last two years preceding the award application deadline are eligible to receive the award.

In their article, the authors use topic modeling and data mining to analyze readers’ language in talking about award-winning multicultural fiction. The authors looked at words readers use to describe multicultural literature and how mainstream publishing tends to exclude writers of color and non-dominant experiences. They summarized and presented existing work on providing access to diverse literature, a topic that has been little explored. The Award, consisting of $500 and a commemorative plaque, is usually presented in person during the EMIERT Chair’s Program at ALA Annual Conference. The acknowledgment will happen virtually due to the change in format because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

For more information, please visit

Founded in 1982, the Ethnic and Multicultural Information and Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) serves as a source of information for recommended ethnic and multilingual collections, services and programs.


Monica Chapman

Program Coordinator, Coretta Scott King Book Awards and ODLOS Round Tables