For immediate release | March 9, 2018

Nutefall receives 2018 ACRL Instruction Section Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award

CHICAGO – Jennifer E. Nutefall, university librarian at Santa Clara University, has been chosen as the winner of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award as editor of the book “Service Learning, Information Literacy, and Libraries,” published in 2016 by Libraries Unlimited. The award recognizes an outstanding publication related to library instruction published in the past two years.

The award, donated by Emerald Publishing, consists of a plaque and a cash prize of $3,000.

While service learning can be defined in many ways, for the context of this book it is defined as community service connected to a for-credit college course, providing students with opportunities to put what they learn into practice, to engage problem-solving skills, and to reflect on their experiences. Ideally, in service learning course materials inform student service, and student experiences with service inform academic dialogue and comprehension. For many reasons, many colleges and universities include service learning requirements.

This book brings together a wide variety of contributors for chapters that provide a larger context for librarian involvement in service learning, the integration of theory and pedagogy, and practical examples of service learning partnerships.

“’Service Learning, Information Literacy, and Libraries’ covers a critical and emerging gap in information literacy literature,” said award committee chair Maoria J. Kirker of George Mason University. “As many colleges and universities begin focusing on civic and community engagement, this book may act as a primer for librarians who wish to incorporate service learning into their practice. This timely book pushes the field in new directions as it encourages librarians to consider new and innovative methods of teaching information literacy concepts and skills.”

The founder of the Colloquium on Libraries & Service Learning, Nutefall received her M.L.S. from Syracuse University and her M.A. in Education and Human Development with a specialization in higher education administration from George Washington University.

For more information regarding the ACRL IS Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award, or a complete list of past recipients, please visit the awards section of the ACRL website.


About ACRL

The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) is the higher education association for librarians. Representing nearly 10,500 academic and research librarians and interested individuals, ACRL (a division of the American Library Association) develops programs, products and services to help academic and research librarians learn, innovate and lead within the academic community. Founded in 1940, ACRL is committed to advancing learning and transforming scholarship. ACRL is on the web at, Facebook at and Twitter at @ala_acrl.

About Emerald

Emerald Publishing was founded in 1967 to champion new ideas that would advance the research and practice of business and management. Today, we continue to nurture fresh thinking in applied fields where we feel we can make a real difference, now also including health and social care, education, engineering and library studies. We publish over 300 journals, more than 2,500 books and over 1,100 case studies, via our dedicated research platform


Chase Ollis

Program Officer