For immediate release | January 2, 2018

ALA announces petition candidates for ALA Council

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) announces the following individuals have filed petitions for positions on the ALA Council for the 2018 ALA Election:

Shannon DeSantis, School Library Media Specialist, Peoples Academy Middle Level and High School, Morrisville, Vermont

Selina Gomez-Beloz, Library Director, Crown Point (Indiana) Community Library

Rhonda K. Gould, Executive Director, Walla Walla County Rural Library District, Walla Walla, Washington

Eboni M. Henry, Branch Manager, District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, D.C.

Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., Section Head, Research and Library Services, Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Sam A. Leif, SysAdmin - Assistant Director of Operations, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Johana Orellana, Adult Services Librarian, North Richland Hills (Texas) Public Library

Lisa Richland, Director, Floyd Memorial Library, Greenport, New York

Alexandra P. Rivera, Student Success and Community Engagement Librarian, University of Michigan Library, Ann Arbor

Donald Welch, Manager, Learning Resource Center, Fortis College, Grand Prairie, Texas

The period for filing petitions ran from October 4 – December 6, 2017.

Ballot mailing for the 2018 ALA election will begin on March 12, 2018 and will run through April 4, 2018 with the results being announced on Wed., April 11, 2018. Individuals must be members in good standing as of Jan. 31, 2018 in order to vote in the ALA election.


JoAnne Kempf


Office of ALA Governance