For immediate release | September 6, 2017

Search begins for ALCTS 2018 Professional Recognition Awards nominations

CHICAGO—Nominations are being accepted for the 2018 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for professional achievement. These two awards honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in acquisitions, and for outstanding promise in technical services.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for any of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

  • The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions:

    Presented by the Acquisitions Section for contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual in the field of acquisitions librarianship, the award consists of $1,500 and a citation donated by HARRASSOWITZ in honor of Dr. Knut Dorn, former managing director. Winners will be chosen based on: demonstrated leadership that has contributed significantly to: improvements in acquisitions; and achievement in the field of acquisitions through contributions to professional associations, literature, the education of acquisitions professionals and the advancement of the profession.

Send nominations to: Michael Arthur, chair, HARRASSOWITZ Jury

Visit the HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions page for more information.

  • Esther J. Piercy Award:

    This award, a $1,500 grant donated by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO and a citation, recognizes contributions to library collections and technical services by a librarian with no more than 10 years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership. Winners will be chosen based on accomplishments related to technical services and resources in such areas as: leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level; contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines; significant contribution to professional literature; and conduct of studies or research in the technical services.

Send nominations, including, a statement giving the reasons for nomination, the date your nominee entered their first professional position and a resume or narrative career outline to: Lisa German, chair, Piercy Jury.

Visit the Esther J. Piercy Award page for more information.

ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association. An international member-driven association, ALCTS engages the library community on issues and policies that affect the acquisition, management, discovery and preservation of library collections.

Related Links

HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions

Esther J. Piercy Award


Keri Cascio

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services