For immediate release | September 14, 2017

ALA announces slate of Council candidates

Chicago - The American Library Association (ALA) announces the following individuals as candidates for positions on the ALA Council. These individuals were nominated by the Nominating Committee for the 2018 ALA Election:

Sedley Abercrombie, Lead Library Media Coordinator, Davidson County Schools, Denton, North Carolina

Audrey Barbakoff, Community Engagement and Economic Development Manager, King County Library System, Issaquah, Washington

Cassandra Barnett, Program Advisor for School Libraries, Arkansas Department of Education, Little Rock

Emily Bergman, Adjunct Reference Librarian, Glendale (California) Community College

Walter L. Betts, Systems Librarian, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth

Tom Bober, School Librarian, RM Captain Elementary School, Clayton, Missouri

Susan Broman, Director of Emerging Technologies and Collections, Los Angeles (California) Public Library

Whitney Buccicone, Special Collections Cataloging Librarian, University of Washington, Seattle

Holly L. Camino, Branch Manager, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Jeffrey Cannell, Director, Providence (Rhode Island) Community Library

Keturah Cappadonia, Outreach Consultant, Southern Tier Library System, Painted Post, New York

Nan Carmack, Ed. D., Director, Campbell County Public Library System, Rustburg, Virginia

Emily Clasper, System Operations and Training Manager, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, New York

Chris Corrigan, Reference Librarian, Library of Congress, National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Washington, D.C.

Peter D. Coyl, Director, Montclair (New Jersey) Public Library

Sara Dallas, Director, Southern Adirondack Library System, Saratoga Springs, New York

Catherine Damiani, Head of Reference/Digital Services Librarian, East Providence (Rhode Island) Public Library

Jay Dela Cruz, Assistant Community Library Manager, Queens (New York) Library

Roberto C. Delgadillo, Research Support Services Librarian, Peter J. Shields Library, University of California, Davis

Vicki Morris Emery, Retired School Library Administrator, Fairfax County (Virginia) Public Schools, Burke, Virginia

Ann Dutton Ewbank, Associate Professor, School Library Media, Montana State University, Bozeman

Debra Rhodes Gibson, Library Director, St. Johns County Public Library System, St. Augustine, Florida

Mary L. Glendening, Director, Middletown Free Library, Media, Pennsylvania

Lucia M. Gonzalez, Library Director, City of North Miami (Florida) Public Library

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk, Author, Trainer, Consultant, Libraries Thrive Consulting, Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Carl A. Harvey, II, Assistant Professor, School Librarianship, Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia

Laura Hicks, Media Specialist, Frederick (Maryland) High School

Mary Anne Hodel, Director, CEO, Orange County Library System, Orlando, Florida

Megan Hodge, Teaching and Learning Librarian, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia

Jody K. Howard, Adjunct Professor and Library Consultant, Emporia State University SLIM Program, Denver, Colorado

Kathy M. Irwin, Associate Dean of Libraries, Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, Michigan

Melissa Jacobs, Coordinator of Library Services, New York City Dept. of Education/New York City School Library System

Eldon Ray James, Researcher, Institutional Survey, LLC, Austin, Texas

Susan L. Jennings, Dean of Library Services, Chattanooga State Community College, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Kimberly Johnson, CEO, Tulsa City-County Library, Tulsa, Oklahoma

kYmberly Keeton, Solo Academic Librarian, ART_library deco, Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebekah Kilzer, Director, Member Education, OCLC, Dublin, Ohio

Linda A. Kopecky, Head, Research Services, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee

Kayla Kuni, Community Education Librarian, New Port Richey (Florida) Public Library

Mimi Lee, Diversity and Literacy Consultant, New Jersey State Library, Trenton

Dennis J. LeLoup, School Librarian, Avon Intermediate School East, Avon, Indiana

Leo S. Lo, Associate University Librarian, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia

Mike L. Marlin, Director, California State Library, Braille and Talking Book Library, Sacramento

Jamie L. Mason, Director, Rocky River (Ohio) Public Library

Steve Matthews, Librarian (EMER), Foxcroft School, Middleburg, Virginia

Arthur F. Miller, General Reference and Research Services Librarian, Princeton University Library, Princeton, New Jersey

Joe Mocnik, Dean of Libraries, North Dakota State University, Fargo

Virginia B. (Ginny) Moore, Retired Librarian, Prince George’s County Memorial Library System, Oxon Hill, Maryland

Toni Negro, Librarian, University of Maryland, Priddy Library, Rockville, Maryland

Robbie Leah Nickel, School Librarian, Sage Elementary School, Spring Creek, Nevada

Michelle Ornat, Assistant Director, Chesapeake (Virginia) Public Library

Leslie Preddy, School Librarian, Perry Township Schools, Indianapolis, Indiana

Jo Rolfe, Library Director, Camarillo (California) Public Library

Joel D. Shoemaker, Library Director, Oakwood (Illinois) Public Library District

Jon D. Solomon, Library Manager, Englewood (Colorado) Public Library

Eric D. Suess, Library Director, Marshall Public Library, Pocatello, Idaho

Tracy Sumler, Outreach Manager, DC Public Library, Washington, DC

Jim Teliha, Director of the Library and Learning Commons, Utica College, Utica, New York

Melody Scagnelli-Townley, Library Media Specialist, Joyce Kilmer School, Mahwah, New Jersey

Erica Ann Watson, Librarian, Art Institute of California, San Francisco

Joan S. Weeks, Head, Near East Section and Turkish Specialist, Library of Congress, African and Middle Eastern Division, Washington, DC

Janice Welburn, Dean of Libraries, Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Individuals who are interested in running for ALA Council by petition may file petitions beginning on Wednesday, October 4, 2017. All petitions must be submitted by 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, December 6, 2017. Instructions for filing petitions can be found at .

Ballot mailing for the 2017 ALA election will begin on March 12, 2018 and will run through April 4, 2018 with the results being announced on Wednesday, April 11, 2018. Individuals must be members in good standing as of January 31, 2018 in order to vote in the ALA election.


JoAnne Kempf


Office of ALA Governance