For immediate release | August 25, 2016

Garcia-Febo, Grief seek 2018-19 ALA presidency

CHICAGO – Loida Garcia-Febo, International Library Consultant and President of Information New Wave in Brooklyn, New York, and Terri Grief, School Librarian at McCracken County High School in Paducah, Kentucky, are the candidates for the 2018-19 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).


Garcia-Febo has been an ALA member for 15 years and has served the library profession both domestically and internationally. Her organization, Information New Wave, is a non-profit organization seeking to bring access to information to underserved populations.

Garcia-Febo has served on the ALA Council from 2011-present and was elected to the ALA Executive Board 2015–18. In addition, she has held numerous committee appointments within ALA including the Committee on Diversity, Intellectual Freedom Committee, and Nominating Committee; she has chaired the International Relations Committee, the Intellectual Freedom Round Table and the Committee on Membership meetings, and is currently the chair-elect of the International Relations Round Table.

She is also very active in IFLA (the International Federation of Library Associations) and currently sits on their governing board, and REFORMA (The National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking) where she co-chairs its 2017 National Conference Committee, and served on the executive board from 2008-11, including president from 2009-10.

“Libraries save lives,” said Garcia-Febo. “More than ever, we need strong libraries to foster stronger communities. I hold almost 20 years of library work and leadership experience. I have worked in a variety of libraries, including academic, public, school, and special libraries. As ALA president, I would bring focus to four important pillars: Advocacy, Diversity & Inclusion, Career Development, and Information Policies. I am committed and energized to collaborate with ALA, its members, divisions, and partners for the advancement of our profession and the future of libraries. I look forward to working together with you as we take action to advance library concerns on the national agenda.”

Garcia-Febo is the recipient of the 2015 REFORMA Elizabeth Martinez Lifetime Achievement Award. She was named a Notable Member on ALA’s International Relations Round Table, received the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award in 2010 and was named a Library Journal Mover & Shaker Freedom Fighter in 2007. She was also awarded an ALA/IFLA Fellowship for the 2004 IFLA Congress where she co-established the IFLA New Professionals.

Garcia-Febo is a frequent speaker, consultant and published author in the areas of human rights, access to information, diversity, new professionals, and continuing professional development.

She received both her MLS degree and BA in Business Education from the University of Puerto Rico, and is currently pursuing her PhD in Information Sciences at the Long Island University.


An ALA member for 19 years, Grief served as the 2013-14 president of the American Association for School Librarians (AASL) and has been a member of ALA Council as the Kentucky chapter councilor (2003-05), AASL division councilor (2010-13), and councilor-at-large (2016-present). She served on the ALA Executive Board from 2005-09.

Her numerous ALA activities include serving as a member of the Committee on Literacy, Intellectual Freedom Committee, Nominating Committee, and chair of the Training, Orientation, and Leadership Development Committee. She has also served the AASL National Conference Committee in various capacities, including co-chair of the committee in 2011; she was the 1999-00 AASL Affiliate Assembly chair.

In addition, Grief served as the 2001-02 president of the Kentucky Library Association, and the 1997-98 president of the Kentucky Association of School Librarians.

Grief received the Kentucky Library Association Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015, the Barby Hardy Lifetime Achievement Award from the Kentucky Association of School Librarians in 2013, the McCracken County Education Association Teacher of the Year in 2002, and the Kentucky Association of School Librarians Outstanding School Librarian in 2001.

"I am humbled by this nomination,” Grief stated. “The American Library Association has been such an important part of my life and I would be honored to serve it as president."

Grief holds an MA in Educational Administration and Supervision and an MA in History, both from Murray State University, as well as a School Library Media Certification from Murray State. She also holds a BA in Library Science and History from Western Kentucky University.

Garcia-Febo and Grief will engage in a candidates’ forum from 4:30 - 5:30 pm on Saturday, January 21, during the 2017 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. The candidates will each have an opportunity to make a statement and will answer questions from the audience.

Ballot mailing for the 2017 ALA election will begin on March 13, 2017 and will run through April 5, 2017. Individuals must be members in good standing as of January 31, 2017 in order to vote in the 2017 ALA election. Watch the ALA Election Page for continuous updates about the ALA elections.


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance