For immediate release | June 6, 2016

Seven librarians earn scholarships from ALA and EBSCO to expand professional development opportunities

CHICAGOSeven librarians will attend the ALA Annual Conference after winning scholarships co-sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO). Each scholarship provides up to $1,000 to help defray the cost of travel and other expenses to the conference taking place in Orlando on June 23-28.

These awards are given annually by ALA and EBSCO to help facilitate the rich opportunities for professional development and networking that the conference offers librarians. The scholarship winners include five first-time attendees and represent a wide variety of libraries. The winners are:

The scholarship winners, including five first time attendees, are:

  • Erinn Paige Batykefer, programs coordinator, New Canaan Library, New Canaan, Connecticut.
  • LaTrisha Blunt, Library Student, Baton Rouge, Louisiana (first-time attendee)
  • Susan Chinoransky, librarian, West Florida Library, Pensacola, Florida
  • Yuimi Hlasten, library associate I, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio (first-time attendee)
  • Joi Jackson, librarian, online learning librarian specialist, George Mason University, Fairfax, Va. (first-time attendee)
  • Nancy Masterson, librarian, Mesquite Elementary School, Gilbert, Arizona (first-time attendee)
  • Ashley Snelgove, library student, Greer, S.C. (first-time attendee)

As part of the application process, librarians were asked to write an essay explaining how attending the conference will contribute to their professional development. Nancy Masterson of the Mesquite Elementary School in Gilbert, Arizona attended the ALA conference last year and was “inspired,” and wishes to return in order to “continue [her] leadership role as a librarian and touch the lives of the most beautiful children in the world with an extra ‘zip in [her] step.”

EBSCO is dedicated to supporting the library community around the world and maintains a long tradition of co-sponsoring scholarships to ALA conferences that provide funds for conference registration, travel, and expenses. The scholarship recipients will be honored by EBSCO and ALA representatives during the conference at a breakfast on Sunday, June 28.

Applications were judged by an ALA-designated jury

About ALA

The American Library Association (ALA) is a nonprofit professional organization of more than 57,000 librarians, library trustees, and other friends of libraries dedicated to providing and improving library services and promoting the public interest in a free and open information society:

About EBSCO Information Services

EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is the leading discovery service provider for libraries worldwide with more than 10,000 discovery customers in over 100 countries. EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS) provides each institution with a comprehensive, single search box for its entire collection, offering unparalleled relevance ranking quality and extensive customization. EBSCO is also the preeminent provider of online research content for libraries, including hundreds of research databases, historical archives, point-of-care medical reference, and corporate learning tools serving millions of end users at tens of thousands of institutions. EBSCO is the leading provider of electronic journals & books for libraries, with subscription management for more than 360,000 serials, including more than 57,000 e-journals, as well as online access to more than 800,000 e-books. For more information, visit the EBSCO website at: EBSCO Information Services is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., a family owned company since 1944.


For more information, please contact:

Kathleen McEvoy

Vice President of Communications

(800) 653-2726 ext. 2594


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer