For immediate release | May 2, 2016

Lindsay elected ALSC 2017-2018 president

CHICAGO — Nina Lindsay, children's services coordinator, Oakland (California) Public Library (OPL), has been elected vice president/president-elect of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

“It's an exciting time for ALSC, and I am honored to be elected to serve,” Lindsay said. “I'm looking forward to listening to and learning from members and stakeholders, who work so hard every day to ensure that libraries serve all children and their caregivers. I'm grateful for the opportunity to advocate on their behalf, and to work for effective collaboration toward this goal.”

Lindsay earned an MLIS in 1996 from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. She began her career as a children's librarian in 1996 at OPL, where she later served as manager of the Main Library Children's Room before taking on the role of children’s services coordinator.

Lindsay has been a member of ALSC/ALA for 23 years and is also a member of the Young Adult Library Services Association and the Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table. She is currently the co-chair of ALSC’s Education Committee and also chaired the ALSC 2014 National Institute Planning Task Force and Caldecott Award 75th Anniversary Celebration Task Force. Lindsay has served on the ALSC Board of Directors (2010-2013) and on numerous other committees.

In addition to her work with ALSC/ALA, Lindsay is co-author of two blogs: "Heavy Medal: A Mock Newbery Blog” and "Reading While White: Allies for Racial Diversity & Inclusion in Books for Children & Teens." She also has held leadership positions with the United States Board on Books for Young People and the Association of Children's Librarians of Northern California.

Three members were elected to serve on the ALSC Board of Directors: Karen MacPherson, Takoma Park Maryland Library, director-at-large; Amy Koester, Skokie (Illinois) Public Library, New-to-ALSC board member; and Paula Holmes, Upper St. Clair (Pennsylvania) Library Board, fiscal officer.

The newly elected vice president and board members will be seated to the ALSC Board of Directors in June 2016, at the close of the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

In addition, the proposed change to Bylaws ARTICLE XII. Parliamentary Authority was adopted, resulting in the following language (new language is underscored):

The parliamentary authority used by this Association shall be the same as that used by the American Library Association and shall govern in all cases in which it is not inconsistent with the Bylaws of this Association or with the Constitution and Bylaws of the American Library Association.

Individuals elected to serve on the 2018 Caldecott, Newbery, Sibert and Wilder Committees are:

2018 Caldecott: Naphtali Faris, Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, Missouri; Sarah Hinkle, West Linn (Oregon) Public Library; Jeanne McDermott, Amagansett (New York) Free Library; Heather McNeil, Deschutes Public Library, Bend, Oregon; Katie Salo, Melrose Park, Illinois; Dean Schneider, Ensworth School, Nashville, Tennessee; Sylvia Vardell, Texas Woman's University, Denton; and Michelle Young, Lihue (Hawaii) Public Library.

2018 Newbery: Mara Alpert, Los Angeles Public Library; Thaddeus Andracki, University of Chicago Laboratory Schools; Janice Del Negro, Dominican University GSLIS, River Forest, Illinois; Sue Giffard, Ethical Culture School, New York; Carol Goldman, Queens Library, Forest Hills, New York; Sujei Lugo, Boston Public Library, Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts; Angie Manfredi, Los Alamos (New Mexico) County Library System; and Catharine Potter, Falmouth (Maine) Elementary School.

2018 Sibert: Madeline Bryant, Los Angeles Public Library; Danielle Forest, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg; Adrienne Gillespie, Stoller Middle School, Portland, Oregon; Debra Marshall, Wilson Elementary School, Coppell, Texas; and Mary Michell, Skokie (Illinois) Public Library.

2018 Wilder: Viki Ash, San Antonio (Texas) Public Library; Susan Faust, Katherine Burke School, San Francisco; and Merri Lindgren, Cooperative Children's Book Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Andrew Medlar, current ALSC president, has appointed the following award committee chairs: Tish Wilson, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library, 2018 Caldecott Award Committee chair; Cecilia McGowan, King County Library System, Issaquah, Wash., 2018 Newbery Award Committee chair; Tali Balas, Convent of the Sacred Heart, New York, 2018 Sibert Award Committee chair; and Rita Auerbach, New York, 2018 Wilder Award Committee chair. Betsy Orsburn, current ALSC vice president/president-elect, will appoint the remaining members of these committees, as well as members of ALSC’s other prestigious award committees this fall.

ALSC, a division of ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit the website.


Laura Schulte-Cooper

Program Officer, Communications

Association for Library Service to Children