For immediate release | April 15, 2016

Caroline B. Sinkinson Selected as 2016 recipient of the LIRT Librarian Recognition Award

The Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) of the American Library Association has chosen Caroline B. Sinkinson, teaching and learning librarian at The University of Colorado, Boulder as the 2016 recipient of the LIRT Librarian Recognition Award. The Librarian Recognition Award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement and support of information literacy and instruction. Sinkinson was chosen as the 2016 winner based on her contributions at the international, national, state and local levels in support of information literacy and instruction. The award will be presented to Ms. Sinkinson at the LIRT Annual Awards Ceremony & Reception on Sunday, June 26, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. at the Rosen Centre Hotel, Salon 18 during the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Michael Saar, chair of the 2016 Awards Committee, noted Sinkinson’s extensive leadership in promoting information literacy within university curriculum as well as her strong publication record as determining factors in the committee’s selection of her as this year’s winner.

Sinkinson’s emphasis on examining information literacy through the lenses of critical pedagogy and academic technology has impacted her library colleagues at the University of Colorado Boulder as well as the university as a whole since her arrival in 2005. In addition to spearheading several librarian professional development programs at her institution she has worked tirelessly to foster relationships among the university faculty, academic technology staff and the library through such programs as the “Teaching with Technology” Seminars. Her publications reflect her skill and adeptness in incorporating information literacy with the fields of critical pedagogy, instructional design and digital scholarship. She has created the Research Instruction Online Tutorial (RIOT) which not only benefits nearly 5000 students per year but also further cemented the library’s place as the heart of pedagogy on campus at CU Boulder. She has presented on these topics and more at the local, state, national and international levels and is currently serving on the ACRL Student Learning and Information Literacy Coordinating Committee. These are just a few of her many accomplishments.

When notified of the award, Sinkinson stated, “It is a true honor to be recognized by peers and by LIRT. The teaching librarian community is full of so many talented and committed educators from who I constantly learn. I share this recognition with all of them! For me it was just the encouragement and inspiration that I needed.”

The Library Instruction Round Table was started in 1977 with the intent to bring together librarians who provide library instruction across all types of libraries -- academic, public, school, and special libraries. 2016 is the third year that the Librarian Recognition Award has been awarded. Ms. Sinkinson will be presented with a $1,000 cash prize and a plaque at the LIRT awards ceremony, scheduled for 5;30-7:30 PM on Sunday, June 26, at ALA Annual in Orlando. She will also receive a $500 travel stipend for attending ALA annual.

Visit LIRT's webpage to find out more about LIRT, its mission and the awards.

LIRT Librarian Recognition Awards Committee included Jonathan Dembo of East Carolina University (Chair), Jacalyn Bryan of Saint Leo University, Emma Oxford of Rollins College, and Michael Saar of Lamar University (Awards Committee Chair).

The ALA Office for Human Resource Development and Recruitment (HRDR) serves as the liaison to the Library and Instruction Round Table (LIRT).

Related Links

Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT)

ALA Office for Human Resource Development and Recruitment (HRDR)


Beatrice Calvin

Manager, Professional Development

Office for Human Resource Development & Recruitment (HRDR)