For immediate release | April 29, 2016

ALA councilors elected

CHICAGO - 34 members have been elected as councilors-at-large on the council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The terms begin at the conclusion of the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida, and extend through the end of the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

The 2016 -2019 Councilors-at-Large are:

  • Ismail Abdullahi
  • Sonia Alcantara-Antoine
  • Oscar Baeza
  • Gladys Smiley Bell
  • Jennifer C. Boettcher
  • Melissa I. Cardenas-Dow
  • Maria Carpenter
  • Kathy Carroll
  • Amber Lea Creger
  • Ana Elisa De Campos Salles
  • Tyler Dzuba
  • Erica S. Findley
  • Mario M. Gonzalez
  • Mel Gooch
  • Terri L. Grief
  • Rochelle L. Hartman
  • April Michelle Hathcock
  • Holly S. Hibner
  • Jennifer Rushton Jamison
  • Sara Kelly Johns
  • Kimberly Bray Knight
  • Rebecca Kate Miller
  • Kari R. Mitchell
  • Louis Munoz, Jr.
  • Muzhgan Israfil Nazarova
  • Denise D. Novak
  • Lauren Pressley
  • Rachel G. Rubin
  • Edward L. Sanchez
  • Jamillah J. Scott
  • Jules Shore
  • Annie Wu
  • Jingfeng Xia
  • Jessica Jupitus Zaker

ALA Division and Round Table Councilors elected for 2016-2019 include:

  • Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL): Leroy Lafleur
  • Library and Information Technology Association (LITA): Aaron Dobbs
  • United for Libraries (UFL): Jeffrey W. Smith
  • Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT): Ann K. Symons
  • Government Documents Round Table (GODORT): William “Bill” Sudduth
  • Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT): Cynthia Ellison Dottin
  • Library Research Round Table (LRRT): Linda Marie Golian-Lui
  • New Members Round Table (NMRT): JP Porcaro
  • Small Round Tables (SRT): Patricia M. Hogan

A total of 10,493 votes were cast in the election. For more election results, including those for ALA president, council, divisions, and round tables, watch for updates on the ALA website.


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance