For immediate release | April 25, 2017

Broward Public Library Foundation Wins the 2017 Loleta D. Fyan Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association has awarded the 2017 Loleta D. Fyan Award to Broward Public Library Foundation project “Project upLIFT: Libraries Inform Family Tolerance." Summarizing the proposed project, project director Dorothy Klein writes: “Broward County Library’s Project upLIFT (Libraries Inform Family Tolerance) will inform, uplift and bond diverse community families around a more tolerant, inclusive future through the power of storytime. Project upLIFT will serve LGBTQ, socially vulnerable, and general community families and individuals, educating and supporting them towards a more inclusive library and more tolerant community. The project will provide staff training through trained consultants, a Family Tolerance Storytime Kit and resulting storytimes, a Family Tolerance Collection of inclusive-themed materials, and a Family Tolerance Booklet."
Fyan Jury chair Stephen Wiberley remarked on the decision, “Storytelling is a powerful way to foster understanding among families and individuals whose lives differ. Broward County Public Library (BCPL) will use storytelling to increase tolerance and inclusion in its community toward LGBTQ persons as well as those vulnerable because of their race, physical appearance, or low self-esteem. The program that BCPL develops will not only enrich Broward County and improve life for individuals and families, it will also help guide similar efforts among public libraries.”
This $5,000 grant, given annually on a competitive basis, is named for Loleta D. Fyan, an ALA past-president (1951-52), who provided funds for the American Library Association (ALA) in her will. The grant supports a project that will develop and/or improve public library services, will effect changes that are innovative and responsive to the future and have potential for broader impact and application beyond a specific local need. Applicants can include, but are not limited to, local, regional or state libraries, associations or organizations, including ALA units, library schools or individuals.
For guidelines and a list of previous winners see:


Kelsey Henke

Program Officer

Office of Research & Evaluation