For immediate release | February 2, 2015

'I’ll Give You the Sun' wins 2015 Printz Award

CHICAGO – “I’ll Give You the Sun,”written by Jandy Nelson published by Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group, (USA) LLC, a Penguin Random House Company, has won the 2015 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) today announced the winner during the ALA Midwinter Meeting, held Jan. 30 – Feb. 3 in Chicago.

Once inseparable, twins Noah and Jude are torn apart by a family tragedy that transforms their intense love for each other into intense anger. Timelines twist and turn around each other in beautifully orchestrated stories of love and longing.

Nelson is the author of the critically acclaimed novel, “The Sky is Everywhere.” She has earned a master of fine arts from Brown for poetry and another master of fine arts from Vermont College in writing for children and young adults. She currently lives in San Francisco.

“In effulgent prose, author Nelson spins a tale of love, loss, and the redemption of art through the voices of Noah and his twin sister, Jude,” said Printz Award Committee Chair Diane Colson.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named:

And We Stay,” written by Jenny Hubbard, published by Delacorte, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc., a Penguin Random House Company.

Reeling from her boyfriend’s dramatic suicide, Emily hides her anguish at a new boarding school, where she finds healing through poetry. Hubbard’s gem-like prose beautifully balances Emily’s poetry.

“The Carnival at Bray”, written by Jessie Ann Foley and published by Elephant Rock Books.

In 1993, Maggie is dismayed to leave Chicago and her beloved Uncle Kevin behind when she moves to a small Irish town. Yet it is within this evocative setting that Foley unwinds Maggie’s exceptional coming-of-age tale, where Maggie discovers music and forgiveness as antidotes for grief.

“Grasshopper Jungle,” written by Andrew Smith, published by Dutton Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), LLC, a Penguin Random House Company.

Historian Austin Szerba is in love with his best girl friend, Shann. He is also in love with his best boy friend, Robby. Mastermind Smith takes these tender facts and swirls them into a whirlwind tale of carnivorous praying mantises, the history of the world, the role of the individual, and the end of all we know.

“This One Summer,” written by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki and published by First Second, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership.

Adolescence in its precarious first bloom is the subject of this sensitive graphic novel. The team of Mariko and Jillian Tamaki show and tell us of one special summer in Rose’s life, in a brilliant flow of pictures and text.

The award, first given in 2000, is named for the late Michael L. Printz, a Topeka, Kan., school librarian known for discovering and promoting quality books for young adults. The award is administered annually by YALSA and is sponsored by Booklist magazine.

Members of the 2015 Printz Award Committee are: Chair Diane Colson, Nashville (Tenn.) Public Library; Hayden Bass, Seattle Public Library; Robin Brenner, Brookline Public Library, Arlington, Mass.; Adrienne Butler, Oklahoma City; Naphtali Faris, Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library; Angela Frederick, Metro Nashville (Tenn.) Public Schools; Shelly McNerney, Olathe East High School, Overland Park, Kan.; Matthew Moffett, Fairfax County (Va.) Public Libraries; Terri Snethen, Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park, Kan.; Award Administrative Assistant John Sexton, Greenburgh Public Library, Elmsford, N.Y.; and Booklist Consultant Daniel Kraus, Chicago.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has worked to build the capacity of libraries and librarians to engage, serve and empower teens. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390, or e-mail,

For more information on the Michael L. Printz Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit


Macey Morales

Media Relations Manager


Heather Cho

Media Relations Specialist




Macey Morales

Media Relations

American Library Association