For immediate release | May 15, 2014

ALA Nominating Committee seeks candidates

CHICAGO — The Nominating Committee for the 2015 ALA election is soliciting nominees to run on the 2015 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect and councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for president-elect and no fewer than 50 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2015 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in 2015-2016, as president in 2016-2017, and as immediate past president in 2017-2018.

The councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2015 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2018 Annual Conference.

The ALA president and councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax; and e-mail address. Self-nominations are encouraged. The Committee will also consider as nominees any current councilors who wish to continue their service to the Association. All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at

Nominations and forms must be received no later than Aug. 14, 2014.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the 2015 Nominating Committee. Committee members are:

  • Teri Switzer, dean, librarian, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Kraemer Family Library, Colorado Springs, Colo., (719) 255-3115,
  • Sonia Alcantara-Antoine, manager, Information Services Department, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md., (410) 396-4708,
  • Jennifer Baxmeyer, Princeton University Library, 693 Alexander Rd., Princeton, N.J., (609) 258-3631,
  • Peter Bromberg, associate director for public services at Salt Lake County Library Services, Salt Lake City, Utah, (856) 617-1899,
  • Erica Findley, cataloging-metadata librarian, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore., (503) 754-6619,
  • Julius Jefferson, Jr., information research specialist, Library of Congress/Congressional Research Service, Washington, D.C., (202) 707-5593,
  • Diane Chen Kelly, school librarian, Hattie Cotton STEM Magnet ES, Nashville, Tenn., (615) 262-6981,
  • Todd Krueger, collection development, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, Md., (410) 887-6137,
  • Ana-Elba Pavon, children’s librarian, Oakland Public Library, Elmhurst Branch, Oakland, Calif., (510) 615-5727,

Individuals who do not wish to go through the nominations process may run for office by petition. Information about running by petition and instructions for creating a petition can be found at Members must log-in to the ALA website in order to create a petition. Deadline for filing petitions is February 6, 2015.


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance