For immediate release | August 12, 2014

ALSC announces winners of 2014 Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarships

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,500 in scholarship aid for the 2014-2015 academic year. The four recipients are: Sylvia Cecilia Martin Aguiñaga, Los Angeles, Omar Ramirez, Chicago, Callen Nicole Taylor, San Francisco, Elissa MaryAnne Sperling, Dover, Mass.

Two winners were awarded the Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. This award is worth $6,000 in scholarship aid. The two recipients are: Danielle Christine Crickman, Cambridge, Mass., Sheila Laurence Olson, Des Moines, Iowa.

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution. Recipients are also expected to accept positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The 2014 ALSC Scholarship Committee includes: Miriam Lang Budin, chair, Chappaqua (N.Y.) Library; Susan Z. Melcher, Louisville, Ky.; Lauren Mary Anduri, Oakland Public Library, Calif.; Rebecca K. Jackman, New Providence Middle School, Tenn.; Heather L. Maneiro, Minnesota State University-Moorhead, Minn.


Courtney Jones

Awards Coordinator

Association for Library Service to Children