For immediate release | September 10, 2013

Search begins for ALCTS 2014 professional recognition awards nominations

CHICAGO — Nominations are being accepted for the 2014 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for professional achievement. The three awards honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in the fields of cataloging and classification and acquisitions and for outstanding promise.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for any of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions

Presented by the Acquisitions Section for contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual in the field of acquisitions librarianship, the award consists of $1,500 and a citation donated by HARRASSOWITZ in honor of Dr. Knut Dorn, former managing director. Winners will be chosen based on: demonstrated leadership that has contributed significantly to: improvements in acquisitions; and achievement in the field of acquisitions through contributions to professional associations, literature, the education of acquisitions professionals and the advancement of the profession.

Send nominations to: Ginger Williams, chair, HARRASSOWITZ Jury,

Visit the HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions page for more information:

Margaret Mann Citation

This award is presented to a cataloger or classifier for outstanding professional achievement in the areas of cataloging or classification through publication, participation in professional cataloging associations or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries. The Cataloging and Metadata Management Section administers the award, a citation and $2,000 to the library school of the winner's choice, which is donated by OCLC, Inc. The Mann Citation committee bases its selection on nominations made by members of the profession or friends of the profession. Anyone with a worthy candidate is urged to nominate that person. Achievements to be considered include: notable publications; outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations; outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance; and outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.

Send nominations to: Lori Robare, chair, Mann Citation Jury,

Visit the Mann Citation page for more information:

Esther J. Piercy Award

This award, a $1,500 grant donated by YBP, Inc and a citation, recognizes contributions to library collections and technical services by a librarian with no more than 10 years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership. Winners will be chosen based on accomplishments related to technical services and resources in such areas as: leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level; contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines; significant contribution to professional literature; and conduct of studies or research in the technical services.

Send nominations, including, a statement giving the reasons for nomination, the date your nominee entered his or her first professional position and a resume or narrative career outline to: Bruce Chr. Johnson, chair, Piercy Jury,

Visit the Piercy Award page for more information:

ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.


Charles Wilt

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)