For immediate release | September 10, 2013

ALCTS 2014 preservation awards nominations sought

CHICAGO - Nominations are being accepted for the 2014 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) preservation awards. ALCTS presents three preservation awards, through its Preservation and Reformatting Section, to honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in preservation or to support a new preservation staff member’s participation in preservation activities at the ALA Annual Conference.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

Banks/Harris Preservation Award

The award was established to honor the memory of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation. The award, $1,500 and a citation, sponsored by Preservation Technologies, L.P., is given to a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials. Winners will be chosen based on: leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national levels; contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines; significant contribution to professional literature; evidence of studies or research in preservation; and training and mentoring in the field of preservation.

Send nominations, a formal statement of nomination that provides a strong rationale for the nomination by addressing how the nominee meets the criteria for the award, letters of support for the nomination and a complete resume for the nominee to: Andy Hart, chair, Banks/Harris Jury,

Visit the Banks Harris page for more information.

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award

The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award was established by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) to honor the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation.

The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in ALA is not required. The Cunha/Swartzburg Award is sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge and includes a $1,250 grant and citation.

Send nominations, including the name of the person or group being nominated; address, phone number and email address of nominee and nominating party; a formal statement of nomination, with rationale for the nomination; resume, vita or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determination; and letters of support and endorsement, to Julie Mosbo, chair, Cunha/Swartzburg Jury,

Visit the Cunha Swartzburg page for more information.

Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant

The Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant was established to honor Jan Merrill-Oldham, distinguished leader, author, and mentor in the field of library and archives preservation. The grant provides the recipient the opportunity to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference in order to contribute to his/her professional development.

The recipient will attend meetings, programs, and be required to submit a short essay on their conference experience to the ALCTS News. The grant consists of a $1,250 cash grant donated by the Library Binding Institute and a citation to be presented at the ALCTS Awards ceremony. The grant is applicable toward airfare, lodging and registration fees related to ALA Annual Conference attendance.

Send nominations or applications, including the following name, address, phone number and email address of the nominee and nominating party or applicant; letter of application or nomination; two letters of recommendation from professional colleagues who know the candidate and his/her work; resume or curriculum vitae; short essay (up to 500 words) on the following theme: How would receiving the Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant further your professional development goals? to Liz Dube, chair, grant jury,

Visit the Jan Merrill-Oldham Grant page for more information.

ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.


Charles Wilt

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)