For immediate release | September 30, 2013

ALA announces slate of Council candidates

The American Library Association (ALA) announces the following individuals as candidates for positions on the ALA Council. These individuals were nominated by the Nominating Committee for the 2014 ALA Election:

Denice C. Adkins, Associate Professor, School of Information Science & Learning Technologies, University of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.

Anya N. Arnold, Resource Sharing and Courier Program Manager, Orbis Cascade Alliance, Eugene, Ore.

Audrey Barbakoff, Adult Services Librarian, Kitsap Regional Library, Bainbridge Island Branch, Wash.

Latrice Booker, Coordinator of Library Instruction, Indiana University Northwest, Gary, In.

Vivian Bordeaux, Librarian/Customer Service Team, Bridgeport (Conn.) Public Library.

Steve Brantley, Head of Reference and Instruction/Associate Professor, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston, Ill.

Frank Alan Bruno, Library Director, Dorchester County Library, St. George, S.C.

Tina Chan, Assistant Coordinator of Reference/Reference and Instruction Librarian, State University of New York at Oswego.

Emily E. Clasper, System Operations and Training Manager, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, N.Y.

Alexander H. Cohen, Library Consultant, Aaron Cohen Associates, LTD, Croton-on-Hudson, N.Y.

Roberto C. Delgadillo, Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services Librarian, Peter J. Shields Library, University of California - Davis.

Kathleen May DeLong, Associate University Librarian, University of Alberta Libraries, Edmonton, Alta., Canada

Renée Di Pilato, Central Library Manager, Alexandria (Va.) City Library.

Tyler Dzuba, Head, Physics-Optics-Astronomy Library, University of Rochester, River Campus Libraries, Rochester, N.Y.

Tanya Ducker Finchum, Professor/Oral History Librarian, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Okla.

Marianne Crandall Follis, Senior Librarian, Irving (Texas) Public Library – Valley Ranch Branch.

Ed Garcia, Library Director, Cranston (R.I.) Public Library.

Martin L. Garnar, Reference Services Librarian and Professor of Library Science, Regis University, Denver, Colo.

Rhonda K. Puntney Gould, Public Library Consultant, Gould Library Consulting, Tacoma, Wash.

Larry Grieco, Library Director, Gilpin County Public Library, Black Hawk, Colo.

Clem Guthro, Director of Libraries, Colby College, Waterville, Maine.

Kathleen Hanselmann, Chief Librarian, Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center, Monterey, Calif.

Carl A. Harvey II, School Librarian, North Elementary School, Noblesville, Ind.

Kathy Hicks-Brooks, School Librarian, MSD of Wayne Township, Indianapolis, Ind.

Will Hires, Research Librarian, Howard University, Washington, D.C.

Mary Anne Hodel, Director/CEO, Orange County Library System, Orlando, Fla.

Richard Huffine, Senior Director, U.S. Government Market, ProQuest, Vienna, Va.

Amiya P. Hutson, Youth Services Librarian, Cleveland (Ohio) Public Library.

Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., Information Research Specialist, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Susan L. Jennings, Dean of Library Services, Augusta R. Kolwyck Library, Chattanooga (Tenn.) State Community College.

Xudong Jin, Library Director, Pitt Community College, Winterville, N.C.

Kimberly Jacquel Johnson, Deputy Director, Chief Innovation Officer, Tulsa (Okla.) City-County Library.

Brian Kenney, Library Director, White Plains (N.Y.) Public Library.

Margaret L. Kirkpatrick, Retired Elementary School Librarian, Wichita, Kan.

Charles E. Kratz, Dean of the Weinberg Memorial Library, The University of Scranton (Penn.)

Cynthia “Cyndee” Sturgis Landrum, Assistant Director for Public Services, Oak Park (Ill.) Public Library.

Dennis J. LeLoup, School Librarian, Avon (Ind.) Intermediate Schools.

Chihfeng P. Lin, Associate Professor, Department of Information & Communications, Shih Hsin University, Taipei, Taiwan.

Rodney Eugene Lippard, Director, Learning Resource Centers Information Commons, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Salisbury, N.C.

Chang Liu, Director, Loudoun County Public Library, Leesburg, Va.

Mike L. Marlin, Director, California State Library Braille & Talking Book Library, Sacramento, Calif.

Pat McLeod, Library Director, David & Joyce Milne Public Library, Williamstown, Mass.

Dale K. McNeill, Assistant Director for Public Services, San Antonio (Texas) Public Library.

Michael J. Miller, Acting Chief Librarian, Bronx Community College, City University of New York.

Nanci Milone Hill, Library Director, M.G. Parker Memorial Library, Dracut, Mass.

Heather Lea Moulaison, Assistant Professor, School of Information Science & Learning Technologies, University of Missouri – Columbia.

Robbie Leah Nickel, Librarian, Sage Elementary School, Spring Creek, Nev.

Jerome Offord, Jr., Chief of Staff to the President & Dean of Library Services, Lincoln University, Jefferson City, Mo.

Maliaca G. Oxnam, Associate Librarian, Scholarly Publishing & Data Management Team, University of Arizona – Tucson.

John Pecoraro, Assistant Director, Manhattan (Kan.) Public Library.

Liz Philippi, Manager of Library Services, Houston (Texas) ISD.

Jeannette E. Pierce, Associate Director for Research and Information Services, University of Missouri – Columbia.

Kevin Reynolds, Assistant University Librarian for Learning & Access Services, University of the South, Sewanee, Tenn.

Colby Mariva Riggs, Project Coordinator – Systems Librarian, University of California – Irvine.

Ben Rodriguez, Technology Manager, Allstate Investments LLC, Northbrook, Ill.

Daniella Smith, Assistant Professor, University of North Texas – Denton.

Erin S. Stalberg, Director of Discovery and Access, Mount Holyoke College, Library, Information & Technology Services, South Hadley, Mass.

Tracy Reid Sumler, Branch Manager, Loudon County Public Library, Leesburg, Va.

Thomas H. Teper, Associate Dean of Libraries for Collections & Technical Services, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Tammy Renee Turner, High School Library Media Specialist, Frisco (Texas) ISD.

Christian Zabriskie, Assistant Community Library Manager, Queens (N.Y.) Library.

Individuals who are interested in running for ALA Council by Petition may file petitions through the 11:59 p.m. on Friday, January 31, 2014. Instructions for filing petitions can be found at .

Ballot mailing for the 2014 ALA Election will begin on March 19. The election will close on April 25, 2014.


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance