For immediate release | June 25, 2013

ALA awards 51 Spectrum Scholarships for 2013-2014

CHICAGO — Today, the American Library Association's (ALA) Office for Diversity awards 2013-2014 Spectrum Scholarships to 51 exceptional students pursuing graduate degrees in library and information studies. Since 1997, the ALA has awarded more than 800 Spectrum Scholarships.

In the 2013 application cycle, the Spectrum Scholarship Program received three times as many applications as there were available scholarships, and the majority of this year’s applicants were deemed highly fundable. A prestigious committee of six jurors selected this year’s Spectrum Scholars based on their commitment to diversity, commitment to entering the library profession, demonstrated community outreach, academic ability and achievements and leadership potential.

The 2013-2014 Spectrum Scholars are:

Jessica Agudelo (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), Queens College, City University of New York

Elena Baeza (TLA Scholar), Texas Woman's University

Jessica Bastian (ACRL Scholar), University of Illinois

Kristen Bowen, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Micha Broadnax, Simmons College

Jason M. Broughton, University of South Carolina

Jennifer C. Brown, (Ron Clowney Scholar), University of Michigan

Barrye Brown (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Rebecca Calderon, University of North Texas

Fanny Camargo (William R. Gordon Spectrum Scholar), Dominican University

Joanna Chen, University of California - Los Angeles

James Cheng (NLM/MLA Scholar), University of Texas - Austin

Ashley Dean, Simmons College

Andrea Devlin, Simmons College

Nik Dragovic (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), Pratt Institute

Rhonda B. Evans, Pratt Institute

Audra Everett (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University at Buffalo, State University of New York

Claudia Flores (Betty J. Turock Spectrum Scholar), Rutgers University

Meera Garud (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of Hawaii

Anastasia Greene, Simmons College

Patricia Guardiola, University of Kentucky

Jennifer Himmelreich, San Jose State University

Simon Ho (Leo Albert Scholar), San Jose State University

Twanna Hodge (Louise Giles Scholar), University of Washington

Chris Chijioke Iweha, University of Maryland

Gloria Jertberg, San Jose State University

Rhonda D. Jones, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Melissa Kahili (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of Washington

Lana Kang (Carla Hayden in memory of Lillian Lewis Scholar), Syracuse University

Tamara King (Howard M. and Gladys B. Teeple Scholar), University of South Carolina

Ina Laguerta (AASL Scholar), San Jose State University

William K. Langston, University of Illinois

Aiyanna Looney (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of Washington

Mario Macias, University of Washington

Dina Meky, Syracuse University

Paula Jharina Pascual, University of Michigan

Gilda Ramos-Araujo (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), Long Island University

Cecily Randle El, University of Illinois

Katherine Rojas, University of Illinois

Carlito Sanchez, University of North Texas

Madeline Sheldon (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of Michigan

Melissa Solis, San Jose State University

Eimmy Solis, Long Island University

Jenay M. Solomon, Emporia State University

Kimberly R. Tate (NLM/MLA Scholar), University of Washington

Victoria Thomas (YALSA Scholar), University of Wisconsin-Madison

Lisa L. Tyler (OCLC Scholar), University of Washington

Marco Veyna-Reyes (ALSC Scholar), University of North Texas

Robert E. White, University of North Texas

Rachel E. Winston, University of Texas – Austin

Sophie Young (ALA/ProQuest Bash Scholar), University of Illinois

The Spectrum program continues to fund scholarships through its endowment and the generous contributions of individuals and organizations whose donations support named scholarships in the Spectrum Family of Funds. For 2013, scholarships have been awarded in honor of the following individuals: Leo Albert, Ron Clowney, Louise Giles, William R. Gordon, Howard M. and Gladys B. Teeple and Dr. Betty J. Turock.

Ten of the 2013 Spectrum Scholarships have been funded by proceeds from the 2013 ALA/ProQuest Scholarship Bash. In addition to raising much-needed funds for scholarships, the ALA/ProQuest Scholarship Bash provides a fun event for librarians each year at the ALA Annual Conference.

The Medical Library Association/National Library of Medicine (MLA/NLM) supports two scholarships. The MLA/NLM Spectrum Scholarships support students of color with an interest in the field of medical or health sciences librarianship.

The Texas Library Association (TLA) announced in 2011 that it will support one Spectrum Scholarship a year. TLA is supporting one 2013 Spectrum Scholar attending an ALA-accredited graduate program in library and information studies or an AASL-recognized school library program in Texas.

Carla Hayden has made a contribution in memory of Lillian Lewis, first Program Officer of the Spectrum Initiative, that is supporting one 2013 Spectrum Scholar. Dr. Hayden's contribution is additionally supporting professional development grants to assist Spectrum alumni interested in attending future ALA Annual Conferences.

OCLC has committed funding to support one Spectrum Scholarship a year through 2014. One 2013 Spectrum Scholar has been designated in recognition.

The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) is supporting one 2013 Spectrum Scholar interested in pursuing a career as a school librarian.

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) is supporting one 2013 Spectrum Scholar interested in pursuing a career in academic and research libraries.

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has established the ALSC Spectrum Scholarship through funding from the Frederic G. Melcher Endowment. One ALSC Spectrum Scholar interested in library service to children will be designated each year in perpetuity.

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) is supporting one 2013 Spectrum Scholar pursuing a career in young adult librarianship or secondary school librarianship.

Spectrum recruits and provides scholarships to American Indian/Alaska Native, Asian, Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino or Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander students to assist them with obtaining a graduate degree and leadership positions within the profession and our organization. Our aim is to increase the number of racially and ethnically diverse professionals in the field of library and information science to best position libraries at the core of today’s culturally diverse communities. To learn more about the Spectrum Scholarship Program, please contact the Office for Diversity at 1 (800) 545-2433, ext. 5048 or visit The application period for 2014 Spectrum Scholarships will open in October 2013.


Gwendolyn Prellwitz

Assistant Director

Office for Diversity and Spectrum