For immediate release | June 25, 2013

2013 ALA scholarship recipients announced

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Scholarship Program is announcing the scholarship recipients for 2013-2014. Recipients were selected for the following categories: General, Support Staff and Specialty or Practice area, in children’s services, new media and federal librarianship.

ALA General Scholarships include:

  • David H. Clift – named for a former director of the ALA. Recipient: Roosevelt Weeks, Pearland, Texas. Weeks will be attending University of North Texas.
  • Christopher Hoy/ERT – named for a long time ALA staff member who was director of ALA Conference Services. Recipient: Antoinette Mendieta, Woodland, Calif. Mendieta will be studying at San Jose State University.

ALA Support Staff Scholarships include:

  • Tom and Roberta Drewes – established with donations from the founder of Quality Books. Recipient: Marco Ruiz, Camarillo, Calif. Ruiz will be attending the San Jose State University.
  • Miriam L. Hornback – named for long time ALA Staff member and secretariat to the ALA Council and Executive Board. Recipient: Julia Bullock, Colorado Springs, Colo. Bullock will pursue her studies at the Emporia State University.
  • Tony B. Leisner – established with donation from an active ALA member and former member of ALA Council. Recipient: Katherine Rodda, Silver Spring, Md. Rodda will be attending the Catholic University of America.

Specialty or Practice Area:

  • Mary V. Gaver (Children’s Services) – established to honor the memory of a past ALA president and Rutgers University professor. Recipient: Cordelia Eddy, Bratenahl, Ohio. Eddy will be pursuing her studies at University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.
  • Peter Lyman Memorial/SAGE (New Media) – established to honor the memory of a University of California professor emeritus and university librarian and donation from SAGE Publishing. Recipient: Amanda Demeter, Santa Barbara, Calif. Demeter will be attending the University of Washington Information School.
  • Cicely Phippen Marks (Federal Librarianship) – named in honor of the late Cicely Phippen Marks and supported by generous donations from her husband Charles L. Garris. Recipient: Katherine Cole, Rockville, Md. Cole is studying at the University of Maryland.
  • ALA Century Scholarship - established by the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) and the Library Service to Special Populations Section (LSSPS) and the Library Service to People with Visual or Physical Disabilities Forum. Recipient: Mallory Marshall, Louisville, Ky. Marshall will be attending University of Kentucky.

Applicants for the ALA Scholarships must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident, must attend an ALA accredited master’s program; must not have completed more than 12 semester hours or one-third of the required hours toward a MLS/MLIS/MIS prior to June 1st of the awarded year, and must submit a complete application. Criteria for the scholarships include academic excellence, leadership, and evidence of commitment to a career in librarianship.

For more information on the ALA Scholarship Program and how you can donate, please contact the Scholarship Clearinghouse at (800) 545-2433 ext. 4279 or visit ALA Scholarship Program. The application for the 2014 academic year will be open in September 2013.


Kimberly L. Redd

Program Officer, Education & Scholarships

American Library Association

Human Resource Development & Recruitment