For immediate release | April 8, 2013

Elizabeth Aversa receives the 2013 Beta Phi Mu Award

CHICAGO - Dr. Elizabeth Aversa, professor of library and information science at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Ala., has been selected to receive the American Library Association’s 2013 Beta Phi Mu Award. This annual award, donated by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society, is presented to a library school faculty member or to an individual who demonstrates distinguished service to education in librarianship.

Aversa was selected for her outstanding contributions to library education and librarianship and her strong commitment to mentoring students and colleagues.

Aversa, who holds an M.Ln. from Emory University and a Ph.D. from Drexel, came to the University of Alabama School of Library and Information Studies as Director in 2003, after a distinguished career as a library school dean and director at the Catholic University of America and the University of Tennessee, among others. Under her leadership at Alabama, enrollment increased to more than 300 students, the MFA in the Book Arts program was awarded the 2011 Institutional Award for Distinguished Achievement by the American Printing History Association, and the school achieved continuing accreditation from ALA In addition, Aversa instituted the School’s online program and continues to be an enthusiastic supporter.

Under Aversa's leadership, SLIS faculty has achieved an excellent record of publication, community service and professional association participation. Her own impressive record of publication includes books, edited volumes, book chapters, scholarly articles and numerous conference presentations. She has been active in ALA and ALISE for many years and is currently a member of the ALA Committee on Accreditation. Aversa was named Alabama Librarian of the Year in 2011 and received the ALISE award for professional service in 2005.

Members of the 2012-2013 Beta Phi Mu Award Jury are Laurel Bliss of San Diego, Calif. (Chair); Roberto Delgadillo of Davis, Calif.; Janice L. Flug of Silver Spring, Md.; Neely Tang of Ithaca N.Y.; and Caroline Ward of Cos Cob, Conn.

The Beta Phi Mu Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception at the ALA Conference in Chicago.

More information about the Beta Phi Mu Award including how to submit a nomination is available on the ALA website.


Cheryl M. Malden

Program Officer

Executive Office (EXEC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.3247