For immediate release | March 29, 2013

Beacher J.E. Wiggins receives the 2013 Melvil Dewey Medal Award

CHICAGO - Beacher J.E. Wiggins, director for acquisitions and bibliographic access at the Library of Congress, is the winner of the 2013 Melvil Dewey Medal Award, sponsored by OCLC. The prestigious honor, given in recognition of creative leadership of high order, is named in honor of Melvil Dewey, who was actively interested in library management, library training, cataloging and classification and the tools and techniques of librarianship.

“The jury for the 2013 Melvil Dewey Medal is pleased to honor Beacher J.E. Wiggins for his outstanding leadership, deep knowledge and broad experience in librarianship especially in acquisitions, cataloging and classification,” said Chair John A. Moorman.

Among the achievements noted by the Dewey jury and the many colleagues who wrote in support of his award nomination are Wiggins’s oversight in leading the historic merger of the acquisitions and cataloging functions at the Library of Congress; leadership in building a flexible and robust framework for sharing bibliographic and other metadata related to cultural heritage objects; co-chairing the U.S. National Libraries RDA Test Coordinating Committee; co-leading the New Bibliographic Framework Initiative that will replace MARC; Convening the Library of Congress Bicentennial Conference on Bibliographic Control for the New Millennium and his mentoring of colleagues and the willing sharing of his knowledge.

“As one nominator indicated, time and time again, Beacher Wiggins has been positioned to influence and/or lead major fundamental change in the area of bibliographic control - some being very controversial. His intellect and experience notwithstanding, his effectiveness rests on the immediate and lasting trust that he engenders with those individuals and organizations (including the Library of Congress) that he works with and in,” Moorman said.

Beacher Wiggins has been with the Library of Congress since 1972 and in his present position since 2004. He has been an active member of the American Library Association and the ALCTS Division of ALA for more than 30 years. He is the recipient of the ALCTS 50th Anniversary Presidential Citation for contributions to ALCTS and the library profession in 2007 and was the 1994 Alumnus of the year, University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Library and Information Studies.

The 2013 Melvil Dewey Award will be presented at the ALA Awards Ceremony Reception on Sunday, June 30, 2013, during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois.

In addition to Chair Moorman, Director of the Williamsburg Regional Library, Williamsburg, Virginia, the members of the 2013 Melvil Dewey Award jury are: Emily A. Bergman, retired librarian, Glendale, California; Deana Groves, Head, Department of Library Technical Services, Western Kentucky University Libraries, Bowling Green, Kentucky; Dora T. Ho, Youth Services Librarian, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, California; and Brenda Peabody Tirrell, librarian, YBP Library Services, Contoocook New Hampshire.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2014 Melvil Dewey Award is December 1.

Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA website.


Cheryl M. Malden

Program Officer

Executive Office (EXEC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.3247