For immediate release | January 2, 2013

ALA awards deadline extended

CHICAGO — The deadline has been extended to Feb. 15 for a number of American Library Association (ALA) awards and grants, including the Beta Phi Mu Award, Melvil Dewey Award, Paul Howard Award For Courage, Scholastic Library Publishing Award and the Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children. Although the online application has a Dec. 1 deadline date, the applications will be accepted through Feb 15.

Beta Phi Mu is presented to a faculty member of a library school or an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k-gold-framed citation donated by Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society. Application

Melvil Dewey Medal honors an individual or group for a recent creative professional achievement in library management, training, cataloging and classification or the tools and techniques of librarianship. The award includes$2,000, the Dewey Medal and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by OCLC/Forest Press, Inc. Application

Paul Howard Award for Courage honors a librarian, library board, library group or individual for exhibiting unusual courage benefiting library programs or services. The award, given every two years, includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Paul Howard. Application

Scholastic Library Publishing Award An annual award consisting of $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation presented to a librarian whose "unusual contribution to the stimulation and guidance of reading by children and young people" exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession. Application

Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children honors an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of library service to children while having general management/supervisory/ administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope. The recipient will receive a plaque and recognition artifact. The donor is Peggy Sullivan. Application

For general information about these and other ALA awards, visit


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

Executive Office (EXEC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.3247