For immediate release | December 11, 2012

YALSA names 2013 William C. Morris Award finalists

CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) , a division of the American Library Association (ALA), selected five books as finalists for the 2013 William C. Morris Award, which honors a book written for young adults by a previously unpublished author. YALSA will name the 2013 award winner at the Youth Media Awards at 8 a.m. on Jan. 28, in Seattle during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting.

The 2013 finalists are:

  • “Wonder Show” written by Hannah Barnaby, published by Houghton Mifflin, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers.
  • Love and Other Perishable Items” written by Laura Buzo, published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.
  • “After the Snow” written by S. D. Crockett, published by Feiwel and Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.
  • “The Miseducation of Cameron Post” written by emily m. danforth, published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.
  • “Seraphina” written by Rachel Hartman, published by Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

“Chosen from a very competitive field of debuts, this year’s finalists represent the incredible range of new talent in YA,” said Joy Kim, chair of YALSA’s Morris Award committee. “These outstanding titles include contemporary romance, historical fiction, high fantasy, and dystopian science fiction, and highlight the diversity and quality of writing for teens. We look forward to many more books from these promising authors in the years to come.”

More information on the finalists and the award can be found at YALSA sells finalist seals to librarians and publishers to place on books at YALSA will host a reception honoring the finalists and the winner, as well as YALSA’s Nonfiction Award finalists and winner, from 10:30 a.m. to noon on Jan. 28, in room 606 of the Washington State Convention Center.

The award is named for William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. William “Bill” Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens.

Members of the 2013 William C. Morris Award Committee are: Chair Joy Kim, Pierce County Library System, Tacoma, Wash.; Lee Catalano, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Diane Colson, Palm Harbor (Fla.) Library; Michael Fleming, Pacific Cascade Middle School Library, Issaquah, Wash.; Sarah Holtkamp, Chicago Public Library; Shelly McNerney, Blue Valley West High School, Overland Park, Kan.; Anne Rouyer, New York Public Library; Judy Sasges, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, Wash.; Vicky Smith, Kirkus Reviews, South Portland, Maine; Sandy Sumner, administrative assistant, Morehead (Ky.) State University Camden–Carroll Library; and Ilene Cooper, Booklist consultant, Chicago.

YALSA’s portfolio of book and media awards helps strengthen library services for and with teens by identifying quality, age appropriate resources for librarians and library workers to share with the teens in their communities.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has worked to build the capacity of libraries and librarians to engage, serve and empower teens. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail:

For more information on the Morris Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit


Jaclyn Finneke

Communications Manager

Young Adult Library Services Association

1-800-545-2433 ext.2128