For immediate release | November 16, 2012

2013 ALA/AIA Library Building Awards Competition now open

CHICAGO — The 2013 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards Call for Entries (PDF) is now available. The awards, managed by ALA/LLAMA and the American Institute of Architects (AIA), encourage excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries and recognize accomplishments in library architecture. The deadline for submission is 5 p.m. Eastern time on Jan. 11, 2013.

Any library building project designed by architects licensed in the United States is eligible for entry. The libraries may be built anywhere in the world, and the program is open to all types of libraries that permit public access. Libraries must have been completed since Dec. 1, 2006 and occupied and in service by Jan. 11, 2013.

Details about the award submission and past projects are available online.

For further information:

Elizabeth Henry, Director, AIA Awards

(202) 626-7563;

Kerry Ward, LLAMA Executive Director

(800) 545-2433, ext. 5036;

Members of the 2013 ALA/AIA Jury:

Jeanne M. Jackson, AIA, chair

VCBO Architecture, Salt Lake City

John R. Dale, FAIA

Harley Ellis Devereaux, Los Angeles

Charles Forrest

Emory University Libraries, Atlanta

Kathleen Imhoff

Lexington, Ky.

J. Stuart Pettitt, AIA

Straub Pettitt Yaste, Clawson, Mich.

John F. Szabo

Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles


Fred Reuland

Program Officer

Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA)

1-800-545-2433 ext. 5032