For immediate release | August 8, 2014

Nominating committee extends deadline

CHICAGO — The ALA 2015 Nominating Committee announces a deadline extension for completing the candidate biographical form. Any ALA members interested in being considered for candidacy for the positions of ALA president-elect or councilor-at-large have until 5 p.m. on Friday, Aug.29, to complete the form.

All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at Be sure to select the “Nominated” option. You must click on the “Register” link prior to completing the form.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for president-elect and no fewer than 50 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2015 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in 2015-2016, as president in 2016-2017 and as immediate past president in 2017-2018.

The councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2015 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2018 Annual Conference.

The ALA president and councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Questions about running for office may be directed to any member of the Nominating Committee:

  • Teri Switzer, dean, librarian, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Kraemer Family Library, Colorado Springs, Colo., (719) 255-3115,
  • Sonia Alcantara-Antoine, manager, Information Services Department, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md., (410) 396-4708,
  • Jennifer Baxmeyer, Princeton University Library, 693 Alexander Rd., Princeton, N.J., (609) 258-3631,
  • Peter Bromberg, associate director for public services at Salt Lake County Library Services, Salt Lake City, (856) 617-1899,
  • Erica Findley, cataloging-metadata librarian, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore., (503) 754-6619,
  • Julius Jefferson, Jr., information research specialist, Library of Congress/Congressional Research Service, Washington, D.C., (202) 707-5593,
  • Diane Chen Kelly, school librarian, Hattie Cotton STEM Magnet ES, Nashville, Tenn., (615) 262-6981,
  • Todd Krueger, collection development, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, Md., (410) 887-6137,
  • Ana-Elba Pavon, children’s librarian, Oakland Public Library, Elmhurst Branch, Oakland, Calif., (510) 615-5727,


JoAnne Kempf

Director, Office of ALA Governance

Office of ALA Governance