For immediate release | May 2, 2017

Ernest Ingles Named ALA 2017 Ken Haycock Award Winner

CHICAGO — Ernest Ingles, who recently retired from his position as chief librarian and vice-provost, as well as director, for the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Alberta is the American Library Association (ALA) 2017 Ken Haycock Award recipient.

The award, that seeks to acknowledge exceptional contributions to promoting the field of Library Science, is reflective of Ingles accomplishments and service to the profession. Ingles has devoted his tenure spanning over four decades to elevating the profile of Canadian Studies within academia and further by mentoring library students and emerging professionals in their pursuit of disciplines in the profession, including establishing in 1993 and continuing the acclaimed Northern Exposure to Leadership Institute for librarians. Along his journey he served in leadership and executive capacities within dozens of library associations and organizations.

Early in his career, he achieved national attention for his creation of the Canadian Author’s Manuscript Collections and the Canadian Architectural Archives. He also established the Ottawa based Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions/ Institut canadien de microreproductions historiques, now, with a substantial grant awarded by the Canada Council.

Later, at the University of Alberta, serving as chief librarian and director of libraries, Ingles utilized his innovative approaches in strategic planning, technology and consensus building in the formation of consortiums and user groups. Among these initiatives are the NEOS consortium, Health Knowledge Network (HKN), Book and Record Depository (BARD) - first at a Canadian university and successful partnerships with corporations such as Information Systems Management (ISM), TELUS and IBM to improve cost effectiveness.

Ernie Ingles also received recognition for his commitment to providing access to Canada’s First Nations as chair of the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library Steering Committee. His tireless efforts to garner support for provincially funded digital resources at First Nation colleges across Alberta was honored by Blood Nation’s Red Crow Community College in awarding Ingles the title of “Eminent Scholar”. Recently, he also served by appointment to an expert panel charged by the Royal Society of Canada with reporting on the status and future of Canada’s libraries and archives.

ALA President-Elect James Neal, said, “The Ken Haycock Award embraces a wide range of professional accomplishments that have shaped public understanding and appreciation of libraries. Mr. Ingles has been involved in all these areas for many years with rigorous and sustained work.”

The 2017 Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship Jury members: Dr. Jody K. Howard, Thornton, Colorado; Kylie L. Peters, Geneva Public Library, Geneva, Illinois; Jimmy Thomas, Marmot Library Network, Grand Junction, Colorado; Joyce C. Wright, Champaign, Illinois, Angela A. Williams (Chair), Syracuse University, Syracuse, New York.

The award will be presented at the American Library Association Annual Meeting, June 25, 2017 in Chicago, Illinois.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2018Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship is December 1. Guidelines and applications are available on the ALA website.


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer

American Library Association