For immediate release | January 7, 2014

EBSCO awards five scholarships for librarians to attend 2014 ALA Midwinter Meeting

CHICAGO — In co-sponsorship with American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) has awarded five librarians a $1,500 scholarship to attend the 2014 ALA Midwinter Meeting, Jan. 24-28 in Philadelphia. As part of the application process, librarians were asked to write an essay of the topic of “What will your library be like in five years?”

The EBSCO ALA Midwinter Scholarship is an annual award consisting of $1,500 for actual reimbursed expenses designed to allow librarians to attend the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The scholarship recipients will be honored by EBSCO and ALA representatives during the conference at a breakfast on Sunday, Jan. 26.

The scholarship winners are:

  • Jennifer Grubb, Library Media Specialist, Vine Middle Magnet School, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Ben Himmelfarb, Library Clerk, Albany Public Library, Albany, N.Y.
  • Carlyn Hudson, Circulation Supervisor, Somerset County Library System, Iselin, N.J.
  • Pauline Nicholas, Head of Section, Loans and Reference, University of the West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica
  • Annie Pho, Academic Resident Librarian, University of Illinois at Chicago.

All of the librarians predicted that their libraries would be transformed and make significant strides over the next five years. Jennifer Grubb, a first-year librarian at Vine Middle Magnet School in Knoxville, Tenn. wrote, “Our library will be a space that encourages and supports recreational reading as well as research and project based learning through our STEAM magnet program.” The work is already showing results. Last year, half of the seventh-grade students at the school never checked out a book, and in the first month of the 2013-2014 school year, every one of them has checked out a book.

Applications were judged by an ALA-designated jury: jury chairman Julius C. Jefferson Jr.; Anders Dahlgren, Elizabeth Nelson; Dorothy Persson; and Annie Zeidman-Karpinski with Susan DiMattia serving as the ALA Award chair.

EBSCO is dedicated to supporting the professional development of librarians around the world and has a long tradition of co-sponsoring scholarships to ALA conferences, providing funds for conference registration, travel, and expenses.

About ALA

The American Library Association (ALA) is a nonprofit professional organization of more than 65,000 librarians, library trustees, and other friends of libraries dedicated to providing and improving library services and promoting the public interest in a free and open information society:

About EBSCO Information Services

EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is the leading provider of resources for libraries including EBSCONET®, EBSCO’s total e-resource management system, and EBSCOhost®, the world's premier for-fee online research service, including full-text databases, subject indexes, point-of-care medical reference, historical digital archives and e-books. EBSCO provides more than 375 research databases and nearly 500,000 e-books plus subscription management services for more than 360,000 unique titles including more than 57,000 online titles. Through a library of tens of thousands of full-text journals and magazines from renowned publishers, EBSCO serves the content needs of all researchers (Academic, Medical, K-12, Public Library, Corporate, Government, etc.). EBSCO is also the provider of EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), which provides each institution with a fast, single search box for its entire collection, offering deeper indexing and more full-text searching of journals and magazines than any other discovery service. For more information, visit the EBSCO Web site at: EBSCO is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., one of the largest privately held companies in the United States.


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer