For immediate release | May 16, 2017

Dr. Barbara K. Stripling receives the 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce that Dr. Barbara K. Stripling is the winner of the 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award. This annual award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott, III and presented by the American Library Association for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship as demonstrated by outstanding participation in professional library association, notable published professional writing, or other significant activities on behalf of the profession.

Dr. Stripling, who started her career as a school librarian, is the Senior Associate Dean at the Syracuse University School of Information Studies. Previously she served as the Director of Library Services at the New York City Department of Education.

Jury chairman Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., stated that “the jury for the 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is pleased to honor Dr. Barbara K. Stripling for her commitment to ALA, her scholarly brilliance, irrepressible energy applied in advancing the field of librarianship, and her fervent leadership and advocacy regarding key issues that impact librarianship and society at large.”

Among Dr. Stripling’s achievements specially noted by the jury, and the many colleagues who wrote in support of this award, was her role as a prodigious scholar, advocate, and educator. In the arc of a long and distinguished career she has served as ALA President, President of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), and currently serves as President of the New York Library Association (NYLA).

Dr. Stripling’s extraordinary impact as a preeminent scholar in our profession is validated by her extensive list of published articles and books. Most notably, she is the author of the Stripling Model of Inquiry which provides a blueprint for active learning and critical thinking that has helped focus schools nationwide on building a curriculum foundation based on intellectual inquiry.

Dr. Stripling has served on numerous national and local committees and task forces working as a tireless advocate for school libraries, literacy and intellectual freedom.

The jury noted Dr. Stripling’s amazing lifetime of work in librarianship dedicated to helping children succeed and inspiring and mentoring others in the profession. Mr. Jefferson noted that, “given Dr. Stripling’s many accomplishments and contributions to the profession and the nation, none is more impressive than her continued commitment to providing the intellectual foundation and growth for generations of clear critical thinkers.”

Particularly noted by Mr. Jefferson and other members of the jury was Dr. Stripling’s leadership of Libraries Change Lives: The Declaration for the Right to Libraries, which served as a critical part of her ALA presidential initiative and legacy. This pivotal manifesto, which has been translated into eleven languages, is intended to mobilize support among patrons, elected officials, and other stakeholders for the vibrant cultural and intellectual roles libraries play in communities. With more than 100,000 signatures, the "Declaration" catalyzed a movement and renewed commitment to sustained support for America's libraries.

The 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award will be presented at the ALA Awards Ceremony on June 26, during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois.

In addition to committee chair Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., the members of the 2017 Joseph W. Lippincott Award jury are:

Dr. Susan Anderson, Outreach Librarian & Professor, Illinois Wesleyan University; Lynn Wheeler, Executive Director, Carroll County Public Library; Robin Kear, Liaison Librarian, University of Pittsburg and Lynda Kellam, Data Services and Government Information Librarian, University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is Dec. 1, 2017.

Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA website.


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer