For immediate release | May 30, 2012

ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarship winners

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,000 in scholarship aid for the 2012-13 academic year. The four recipients are: Michelle Ahern, Bethpage, N.Y., Rebecca Baker, Frankfort, Ky., Micaela Sanchez, Greeley, Colo., and Lisa Jordan, Longmont, Colo.

Two winners were awarded the Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. This award is worth $6,000 in scholarship aid. The two recipients are: Katie Clausen, Moorhead, Minn., and Eileen Gilbert, Concord, N.H.

“We feel that all of these recipients represent the organization well,” said ALSC Scholarship Committee Chair Janis Cooker. “Each brings a lot of interest and enthusiasm to our field. The committee has picked six individuals with very bright futures.”

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution. Recipients are also expected to accept positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s Web site at

The 2012 ALSC Scholarship Committee includes: Janis Cooker, chair, St. Mary's County Library, Lexington Park, Md.; Amanda S. Murphy, Warren-Trumbull County Public Library, Youngstown, Ohio; Deborah Sharon Cooper, San Jose State University, Ithaca, N.Y.; Kristine Dersch, Hamlin Robinson School, Seattle, Wash.; and Ms. Bianca Roberts, Tangipahoa Parish (La.) Library.


Dan Rude

Membership/Marketing Specialist

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.2164