For immediate release | May 4, 2012

ALA councilors elected

CHICAGO — Thirty-three members have been elected as councilors-at-large on the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The terms begin at the conclusion of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. and extend through the end of the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.

The 2012 - 2015 Councilors-at-Large are:

  • Nancy L. Baumann
  • Nick Buron
  • Lauren Andrea Comito
  • John R. (Bob) Diaz
  • Aaron W. Dobbs
  • Susan Fitchelberg
  • Jane Glasby
  • Mario M. Gonzalez
  • Susan K. S. Grigsby
  • Meghan Harper
  • Jim Kuhn
  • Linda Louise Martin
  • Virginia (Ginny) B. Moore
  • Toni Negro
  • Angela Nolet
  • Kimberly A. Patton
  • Lessa K. Pelayo-Lozada
  • Sue Polanka
  • Alexandra P. Rivera
  • John C. Sandstrom
  • Gail Schlachter
  • Karen G. Schneider
  • Gary L. Shaffer
  • Nancy J. Snyder
  • Carolyn J. Starkey
  • Eboni M. Stokes
  • Eric D. Suess
  • Tracy-Lyn Van Dyne
  • Jamie Watson
  • Sandy Wee
  • Joan S. Weeks
  • Patricia (Patty) Wong
  • Courtney Louise Young

Betsy Fraser was also elected as councilor-at-large for a two-year term to begin immediately and expire at the end of the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

ALA Division and Round Table Councilors elected for 2012-2015 include:

AASL: Sara Kelly Johns

ALSC: Andrew Medlar

RUSA: Jennifer C. Boettcher

YALSA: Vicki Morris Emery

IFRT: Robert P. Holley

IRRT: Daniel Berdaner

SRRT: Al Kagan

Two (2) proposed amendments to the ALA Bylaws were approved.

A total of 11,201 votes were cast in the election. Council, division and round table elections also were decided. Complete election results are available at


Lois Ann Gregory-Wood


Executive Office (EXEC)

1-800-545-2433 ext.3204