For immediate release | May 29, 2013

International Crime—award-winning crime fiction authors at 2013 ALA Annual Conference

CHICAGO — Wolf Haas, Bayo Ojikutu, Zane Lovitt and Mark Billingham make up the not-to-be-missed “International Crime from Independent Publishers” panel at the 2013 ALA Annual Conference. These lauded crime fiction authors will talk with Booklist Online editor and panel moderator Keir Graff about their worldly perspectives on the genre as part of Mystery Day at the PopTop stage in the Exhibit Hall from 1 - 2 p.m. on Saturday, June 29. The last 20 minutes of the panel will include book signings.

Wolf Haas (Melville House) was born in 1960 in the Austrian province of Salzburg. He is the author of seven books in the bestselling Detective Brenner mystery series, three volumes of which have been made into popular German-language films. Among other prizes, the Brenner books have been awarded the German thriller prize and the 2004 Literature Prize from the City of Vienna.

Bayo Ojikutu (Akashic Books) is the Chicago-based author of two novels: “47th Street Black” and “Free Burning.” He has won the Great American Book Award and the Washington Prize for Fiction, while his short work has earned a Pushcart Prize nomination and appeared in various journals, anthologies and media forums, including: ACM, Other Voices, Chicago Magazine, The Reader, Fifth Wednesday, Tri Quarterly, Akashic Books’ Chicago Noir collection and in Shadow Show, an anthologized tribute to the literary legacy of Ray Bradbury.

Zane Lovitt’s (Europa Editions) stories have been featured in Scribe’s New Australian Stories 2 and in the Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. “Leaving the Fountainhead” won the SD Harvey Short Story Award at the 2010 Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime fiction. He lives in Melbourne. “The Midnight Promise” is his first book.

Mark Billingham (Grove/Atlantic) is one of the UK's most acclaimed and popular crime writers. A former actor, television writer and stand-up comedian, his series of novels featuring D.I. Tom Thorne has twice won him the Crime Novel Of The Year Award as well as the Sherlock Award for Best British Detective and been nominated for seven CWA Daggers. His standalone thriller “In the Dark” was chosen as one of the 12 best books of the year by the Times and his debut novel, “Sleepyhead,” was chosen by the Sunday Times as one of the 100 books that had shaped the decade.

Booklist is the book review magazine of the American Library Association, considered an essential collection development and readers’ advisory tool by thousands of librarians for more than 100 years. Booklist Online includes a growing archive of 135,000+ reviews available to subscribers as well as a wealth of free content offering the latest news and views on books and media. Booklist subscriptions offer essential integrated print and online access for the most efficient and effective workflow.

Register and book housing now for 2013 ALA Annual Conference & Exhibition. Ways to stay in touch, get updates, and join the conversations include; Twitter: #ala2013; the Facebook Event; the Pinterest page; and the conference Tumblr.

Related Links

Booklist Online

ALA Annual Conference


Katharine Fronk

Marketing Manager

American Library Association