For immediate release | March 22, 2012

Lyn Hopper receives the 2012 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

CHICAGO — Lyn Hopper, strategic planning consultant and former assistant state librarian in Georgia for library development (retired), is the 2012 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. This award is given biennially to an individual for making positive changes in the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 contributed by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund of the American Library Association.

“The jury for the 2012 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award is pleased to honor Lyn Hopper for how she has touched the lives of both new and established librarians in Georgia and beyond, in all aspects of librarianship” said Laurel Bliss, fine arts librarian, San Diego State University Library and chair of the 2012 Futas Award Committee.

In her current work as a consultant and her past work as the assistant state librarian in Georgia for library development, Hopper has focused on providing educational opportunities and training for librarians, trustees and board members. She wrote "Tools for Trustees: The Georgia Public Library Trustee Manual," and received an IMLS grant for her project entitled "Librarians Build Community." In additional to her professional development work with the Public Library Association and the Georgia Library Association, she was instrumental in organizing the Friends of Georgia Libraries (FOGL). Her commitment to outreach and continuing education is reflected in the community building seminar she teaches at the Library and Information Science program at Valdosta State and her participation in Florida State's Specialist of Information Studies program.

“The Futas jury was impressed by the many enthusiastic letters from associates in different areas and fields who wrote in support of her nomination for this award” Bliss said.As one colleague stated, ‘Lyn understands the critical nature of timing in effecting change - when it is the time to take a risk - and how to work with others to make change happen." Bliss continued, “From a pool of highly-qualified candidates, the committee decided that Hopper's accomplishments as an agent of change who took risks by reaching out to trustees and friends best exemplify the qualities of Dr. Elizabeth Futas. We are pleased to name her the recipient of the 2012 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award.”

Members of the 2012 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award Jury are: Laurel Bliss, San Diego State University Library; Diane Chen, Hattie Cotton STEM Magnet Elementary School (Nashville, Tenn.); Beth McGuire, Wendover Middle School (Greensburg, Pa.); Amauri Serrano, Appalachian State University (Boone, N.C.); and Amy Wallace, California State University Channel Islands.

The Futas Award will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif., June 21 – 26, 2012.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2014 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst For Change Award is Dec. 1, 2014.

Guidelines and application are available on the ALA website.