For immediate release | December 9, 2011

Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award winners announced

NEW YORK - Yesterday, 10 librarians were recognized for service to their communities, schools and campuses as winners of the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award.

More than 1,700 library patrons nationwide nominated a librarian. The 10 award recipients are:

Venetia V. Demson

DC Public Library, Adaptive Services Division

Washington, D.C.

Martha Ferriby

Hackley Public Library

Muskegon, Mich.

Jennifer O. Keohane

The Simsbury Public Library

Simsbury, Conn.

Dr. Rhonda Allison Rios Kravitz

Sacramento City College

Sacramento, Calif.

Jennifer U. LaGarde

Myrtle Grove Middle School

Wilmington, N. C.

Elizabeth “Betsy” Long

Doby's Mill Elementary School Media Center

Lugoff, S. C.

Michelle Luhtala

New Canaan High School Library

New Canaan, Conn.

Saundra Ross-Forrest

North Avondale Branch Library (Birmingham Public Library System)

Birmingham, Ala.

Rebecca Traub

Temple University Harrisburg

Harrisburg, Pa.

Barbara K. Weaver

Ivy Tech Community College Northwest

Gary, Ind.

Each receives a $5,000 cash award and was honored at a ceremony and reception in New York, hosted by The New York Times, on Dec. 8.

In their nominations, library patrons told stories of how their librarians make a difference in their community. This year’s winners include a librarian who makes the library easier to use for people with disabilities, an innovator who integrates technology throughout her school for improved collaboration among students and teachers and a business outreach librarian who creates a space for the unemployed and local business community to learn new skills, network and collaborate.

Nominations were open to librarians working in public, school, college, community college and university libraries. Forty librarians nationwide have won the I Love My Librarian award since 2008. More information about the award recipients is available at

The award is a collaborative program of Carnegie Corporation of New York, The New York Times and the American Library Association.

Carnegie Corporation of New York is a philanthropic foundation created by Andrew Carnegie in 1911 to do "real and permanent good in this world."

The New York Times Company, a leading media company with 2010 revenues of $2.4 billion, includes The New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, The Boston Globe, 15 other daily newspapers and more than 50 Web sites, including,, and The Company’s core purpose is to enhance society by creating, collecting and distributing high-quality news, information and entertainment.


Megan McFarlane